Working on powered trucks

Working on powered trucks

Postby DKRickman » Mon Feb 17, 2014 1:58 pm

Hello folks,

First, a brief introduction, as I'm new here. My name is Ken Rickman, and I'm a locomotive engineer for Norfolk Southern. While I primarily model in HO standard gauge at the moment, I have always had an interest in other scales, gauges, and pretty much anything obscure, offbeat, or otherwise unusual. Some of you may have read the TT thread I started over at MRH.

So, if I don't model in TT, why am I here? Because I think I have something to offer. I've been working on some powered truck designs for my own use, because I'd like to try powering a small HO steam loco tender instead of the drivers, and there's just not much out there suitable. I started doing some research and coming up with some designs, and I realized that the design might be useful to some TT modelers as well. I've now got a preliminary design available on Shapeways, and I invite people to look at it, order it, try it, discuss it, etc. At the moment, I am making it available at cost because the design is completely untested. If/when it is proven to work, I plan on adding a small markup for myself, probably something in the range of $2.

This version of the truck has a 9' wheelbase and uses NWSL P:87 28" wheels, or 39" in TT. I designed it with the GP38-2 in mind. With 13mm of space inside the shell, it should have at least 12.5 degrees of rotation in each direction - more than enough for a 12" radius curve.

Provided that this design works, I intend to offer several versions. It's easy to make pretty much and wheelbase you want - no more 9'2" compromise between a Blomberg and an AAR Type B. I have also made the design with three axle trucks in mind, so a truck for the SD45 is high on the priority list. Also, I have designs in the works using smaller motors, which should help with some really tight applications, and with no motor at all, to be driven by a shaft from a powered truck.