power supply

User avatar
jmass
Posts: 817
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 6:39 pm

power supply

Post by jmass »

i just bought a tillig tt starter set, but it does not come with transformer. the add for the set says 110 volt transformer needed. can i use a 120 mrc or will that destroy the engine. i bought the set from euro train hobby and the woman i talked to said they dont carry them.?

User avatar
ConducTTor
Site Admin
Posts: 8823
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 4:52 pm
Location: Atlanta GA USA
Contact:

Re: power supply

Post by ConducTTor »

jmass, I use an MRC Teck4 280 and have never had issues. The only thing that matters in a power supply is the voltage. The MRC I have gives operating voltage as 16 volts but in reality it's right at 12 on the rails (which is what you need). Secondary is the amperage but only really becomes an issue if you plan on powering a huge layout with multiple simultaneous running trains.
My website: https://www.ttnut.com
It's the website you're already on. But if you want to be even more on it, click the link.

User avatar
jmass
Posts: 817
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 6:39 pm

Re: power supply

Post by jmass »

thanks for the info conducter. i do plan on expanding the set once i sell all my s guage stuff. it amazes me the difference in american and european prototypes. migt take some getting used to.but the more i look at it the more i like it. and the fact that knowone seems to want to mass produce american prototypes, just cant wait anymore as i really think this is a great scale. any good books out there on these european diesels .

User avatar
ConducTTor
Site Admin
Posts: 8823
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 4:52 pm
Location: Atlanta GA USA
Contact:

Re: power supply

Post by ConducTTor »

I'm an 'internet' guy so all my resources are online. Wikipedia has been a great source of information. On this page http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DB_Class_218 at the bottom there is a list of all German diesels. Not all prototypes have information about them but most do.
My website: https://www.ttnut.com
It's the website you're already on. But if you want to be even more on it, click the link.

User avatar
jmass
Posts: 817
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 6:39 pm

Re: power supply

Post by jmass »

no tt guy cant speak german bein a jerseyboy, can speak a little brooklynese though.

User avatar
jmass
Posts: 817
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 6:39 pm

Re: power supply

Post by jmass »

thanks for the info tt guy. ill definetly check it out.

User avatar
AstroGoat760
Posts: 4046
Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2009 8:07 pm
Location: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA

Re: power supply

Post by AstroGoat760 »

If you are handy enough with electronics, you can make your own power supply.

A while back I bought a box of TT scale track and supplies from an old lady, and in the box was a custom built power box.

The guy that built the box ran his TT scale empire with his wife, when he died she wanted to see that the track and such made it to a good home, so here it is.

Anyways the power box was pretty hefty, it had 3 rheostats on it for 3 individual lines, push button contacts for uncouplers, and signal controls. The thing even had individual circuit breakers for each of the 4 lines (3 track, and accessory line).

Aside from a dent in the casing, the thing works well for the trains now.
Life is short, play with TT Scale Trains!

User avatar
BTTB Fan
Posts: 676
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 9:01 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: power supply

Post by BTTB Fan »

MRC 200 works well and can be bought relatively cheap on eBay (wait for auctions with low staring price). MRC 280 is pretty much the same as 200, but with 2 sets of controls. I also used MRC 220, but could not make a good use of the "momentum" thing, so to me it was again the same as 200 model.
If you have a 220V controller and a plug-in upconverting transformer, it shoudl work just fine. As ConducTTor said, in DC the only thing to watch is the output voltage. Even the AC accessory terminals will most likely work fine on all the relays and turnouts, since they work in Europe with 50Hz and here wut 60Hz...
Alexei

User avatar
jmass
Posts: 817
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 6:39 pm

Re: power supply

Post by jmass »

thanks for the info guys, i have my old mrc 1300 which works just fine with my small starter set. i am still waiting on a shipment of advanced model track and a couple of wagons to expand my set , hope fully soon as its getting a little boring watching it goe around a small circle. eventually i will look into dcc decoders as i have the mrc prodigy advanced that i used for my ho and s layouts.

User avatar
TT-SouthAfrica
Posts: 64
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 6:39 am
Location: Johannesburg South Africa

Re: power supply

Post by TT-SouthAfrica »

Even though I haven't had a proper layout yet, I've been using the original Piko FZ1 Power unit, which is looking a bit worse for wear, along with a an old Flieshmann controller which is actually quite nifty as it's quite small and therefore I enjoy using it on my bench. Then i've got an old hornby controller that even though a bit rusty on the outside is still operating...
Regards
Gareth Owen
The one and possibly only South African TT'er

Post Reply

Return to “Electric / DCC”