Vertical Curves - The Penultimate Word

Vertical Curves - The Penultimate Word

Postby gerhard_k » Wed Jun 01, 2016 5:47 pm

In Kalmbach's Model Railroad Planning 2016 annual, which came out about 2 months ago, way in the back on page 86 is a very thorough 4-page article about vertical curves, by Van S. Fehr. This topic has always interested me, mostly because of the casual rules-of-thumb that are bandied about (including by me in earlier topics on this board: Bernd's Otter Creek Falls Coal & Lumber Rwy. and Juup's Building Eisenbach :wave: ), and the absence of any kind of rational analysis in the past.

Btw, although I'm a mechanical engineer, I have always considered myself a bit of a language geek, perhaps partly brought on by coming over from Germany at age 14 and encountering this mess of a language that is American English :whistle: . So I felt a bit sheepish when I got to my 40's before I learned that 'penultimate' is not an emphasized version of 'ultimate', sort-of like saying 'singularly unique', but that instead it means the one last step before the ultimate version of something. And that's why I titled this thread the way I did, because on such a topic there is surely never The Ultimate Answer. But I digress (which I am told I do a lot :roll: )...