TT people

TT people

Postby dileTTante » Mon Dec 12, 2011 9:17 pm

My trains look like ghost trains, no engineers in the cabs, no passengers in the passenger cars. Years ago I bought a few TT scale figures made by Auhagen. I had hoped to make molds from them to cast more figures. Now perhaps figures can be made by 3-D printing. Since I have no experience with 3-D work I thought making TT figures would be a good first project. In many cases a complete figure isn't needed and fine detail isn't needed either, since the figures would be inside the locomotive or car and seated. The TT people I have are very tiny, so can anyone say whether the detailing would be too fine for a Shapeways project? It's a lazy question because I think I could find out with research.
dileTTante

Re: TT people

Postby ConducTTor » Mon Dec 12, 2011 9:34 pm

That ^^^ is one thing I won't spend any time on. Creating a "fluid" shape vs (mostly) flat surfaces and right angles is a completely different animal.
My website: https://www.ttnut.com
It's the website you're already on. But if you want to be even more on it, click the link.
ConducTTor
Site Admin

Postby dileTTante » Mon Dec 12, 2011 11:15 pm

Well, would you order a set of figures if they were available from Shapeways?

Any art student's book breaks the human figure into basic solid shapes. I would try reducing photos of people and placing the images on a scale grid in order to get basic dimensions to use in sketchup. Or maybe go from the Auhagen figures in the photo. A TT person's head will be just under 2 millimeters. Can a head that size be printed by shapeways? Can any smaller details be added?