TT flex track?

TT flex track?

Postby ctxmf74 » Sat Dec 14, 2013 3:43 pm

Hi all, What's the current state of TT scale flex track? What are the most scale oriented modelers using? What's the most scale like track that can handle the larger flanged stuff like Gold Coast or Tillig? What are US modelers using these days( in stock, reasonable price, and not too ugly) ? I'm not really excited about hand laying track, don't mind building the turnouts but it would be nice to be able to buy some flextrack for the longer runs.......DaveB
ctxmf74
 
Posts: 702
Images: 32
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 12:25 am

Re: TT flex track?

Postby ConducTTor » Sat Dec 14, 2013 3:53 pm

Tillig or Kuhn. Tillig is available from Euro Train Hobby (you may have to ask them to order some for you). You can see it here (3 types of ties) http://www.eurotrainhobby.com/straight-track-tt/c131. Kuhn is lower profile but you have to order it from Europe. I normally use Modelbahnwelt 24 http://www.modellbahnwelt24.de/Kuehn-71 ... tueck-TT_1

If you want proto rail, you will have to get it from tt-filigran in Germany http://www.ttfiligran.de/

I don't know if sazmodel has plans to carry track but maybe that's something on the horizon?
What people think: "liberals/conservatives are ruining my country"
What the powerful know: divide and conquer
User avatar
ConducTTor
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8293
Images: 13
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 4:52 pm
Location: Atlanta GA USA

Re: TT flex track?

Postby j p » Sat Dec 14, 2013 3:57 pm

I remember something with NA style spikes somewhere here on the board.
Here it is: http://www.ttnut.com/resources/a-d-us-product-flyer/4999

I have several versions of Tillig flex track, starting with the old Pilz track and ending with the newest version, I have also one box of Kuehn flex track. Kuehn flextrack is better than any of the Pilz/Tillig versions.
Unfortunately, I cannot say the same about Kuehn's turnouts. Tillig' EW3 (or EW2) would be the best choice.
If your budget (and space) is unlimited, then you can go for Filligran's turnouts. They make even turnouts number 14 (on request only).
j p
 
Posts: 1194
Images: 69
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2016 5:08 pm

Re: TT flex track?

Postby ConducTTor » Sat Dec 14, 2013 4:33 pm

I second the comment on the Kuhn turnouts.
What people think: "liberals/conservatives are ruining my country"
What the powerful know: divide and conquer
User avatar
ConducTTor
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8293
Images: 13
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 4:52 pm
Location: Atlanta GA USA

Re: TT flex track?

Postby ctxmf74 » Sat Dec 14, 2013 11:38 pm

"I don't know if sazmodel has plans to carry track"
That would probably be a good way to increase TT scale sales. Some track like Micro Engineering with as low a profile as possible to run Gold coast size flanges would be a good addition. I'm thinking I'll have to use PC board ties and solder up track since there doesn't appear to be any code 70 or less readily available. I'm going to experiment with code 55 and see if the Euro flanges will work on it, looks like they measure about .045 so not much room for solder blobs :>) Old HP stuff will work fine on code 55 since it's about .026 or so ...DaveB
ctxmf74
 
Posts: 702
Images: 32
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 12:25 am

Re: TT flex track?

Postby Arseny » Sun Dec 15, 2013 3:30 am

ctxmf74 wrote:... there doesn't appear to be any code 70 or less readily available. I'm going to experiment with code 55


There are some code 70 tracks/rails available.

Kuehn rails are 1.8 mm high, so they are Code 70.

Krueger TT/TT model rails are also Code 70. TT-model is Russian-German joint venture. Their production is available via Euro Train Hobby:
http://www.eurotrainhobby.com/track-accessories-tt/c251

TT-model's site:
http://tt-model.spb.ru/2-2/

If you need Code 55 rails, try Filigran-TT:
http://www.ttfiligran.de/

They are 1.5 mm high = code 60

But be careful with some old locomotives and cars.
User avatar
Arseny
 
Posts: 2611
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 4:42 am
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia

Re: TT flex track?

Postby CSD » Sun Dec 15, 2013 1:24 pm

ConducTTor wrote:... I don't know if sazmodel has plans to carry track but maybe that's something on the horizon?


Kuehn won't export to North America, Filigran is quite expensive and Tillig... Let's just say easier said than done.
Mark
//S
User avatar
CSD
 
Posts: 2270
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 1:31 pm
Location: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

Re: TT flex track?

Postby milwrd1 » Sun Dec 15, 2013 1:56 pm

ctxmf74 wrote:" I'm going to experiment with code 55 and see if the Euro flanges will work on it, looks like they measure about .045 so not much room for solder blobs :>) Old HP stuff will work fine on code 55 since it's about .026 or so ...DaveB


No need to experiment. The Euro flanges will give trouble when using the code 55 or smaller rail. I handlaid some code 55 and code 70 and did not have problems with the code 70. The flanges on my very small number of older BTTB Euro engines hit the spike heads when running over the small piece of track I layed using the code 55 rail. It was an experiment, and this section was replaced with code 70 rail. I was using the smallest size spikes provided at the time by Micro Engineering. This was 6 or 7 years ago, perhaps there are spikes with smaller heads available today. You can also try gluing the rails to the ties to eliminate the spikes....I have not tried this, but others have reported success, some in N scale using rail as small as Code 40. :crazy: :crazy: (this is some really small stuff, probably for the younger eyes, definetly not for the older crowd :!: )

The Tillig flex track I have is approximately code 80, part # 83152 obtained from Euro Train Hobby several years ago. Euro Trains currently lists part # 83125, which is either a typographically error, or as Arseny point out, may be a production change consisting of flextrack with code 70 rail.
milwrd1
 
Posts: 308
Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2013 11:07 am
Location: Vicksburg, MS USA

Re: TT flex track?

Postby Tom Dempsey » Sun Dec 15, 2013 2:39 pm

If you lay a PC tie every 5 tie and solder the track to it, then track spikes shouldn't be necessary.
Tom Dempsey
 
Posts: 245
Images: 1
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 9:08 pm

Re: TT flex track?

Postby milwrd1 » Sun Dec 15, 2013 2:45 pm

Tom Dempsey wrote:If you lay a PC tie every 5 tie and solder the track to it, then track spikes shouldn't be necessary.


Very, very true. I have not tried this method either, but I would solder on the outside of the rail to eliminate the potential for "solder blobs" in the flange area. Also, please remember to cut the PC tie between the flanges when finished :!:
milwrd1
 
Posts: 308
Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2013 11:07 am
Location: Vicksburg, MS USA

Next

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests