Toilet chute (extra/ add on detail)

Toilet chute (extra/ add on detail)

Postby Christtking » Thu Dec 18, 2014 5:40 pm

I know it's kind of embarrasing to talk about this kind of thing. I just realized a long time ago that a lot of manufacturers in this scale do not like to bother taking some things seriously. They do not like to improve their models, they don't want to develop or add eye catching details that in reality are important parts of a train (coach). I studied the models from Kuehn, TILLIG, PSK, SCHIRMER, etc. Only TILLIG adapts some of their models (e.g Donnerbucshen coaches, dating back from Zeuke/ BTTB era?) with the funky (offset) moulded poop chute. I give them the credit for that, at least they are using it. Long Halberstadter centre entries (TILLIG), Silberling coaches (TILLIG & KUEHN), the 2 axle (e.g. BCi type) from SCHIRMER, all the single units double deckers from KUEHN just to name a few, could use this type of detail. Mostly the eras that required this type of advanced tecnology before the tanks were introduced under the more modernized coaches. :grin:
Because the space is limited, or the bogie is in the way , or the coupling system (mechanically imposible), etc. EXCUSES!!!!
I heard them all. I can adapt them to my models, no problem. Of course they are exceptions like the bogie is really in the way like on the type B/Y/YB70 coaches. I am certain that there are other coaches with the similar problem, but not all of them. The only thing is (minor problem) I do not have a lathe anymore. Parts being moulded, not so good (I think). Machined out of brass or aluminum or even DELRIN would do the trick, or any other cheap material that can be painted. Every coach might require different matching color according to the frame. Colors to choose: black, burnt umber (or anodized bronze), dark green, ocre or mustard brown, gray (single unit double deckers from Kuehn).
Comments: I expect a lot of them!
CD_Bmo_bogie.jpg