Testors Discontinues Polyscale, Floquil and Pactra

Testors Discontinues Polyscale, Floquil and Pactra

Postby CSD » Mon May 27, 2013 12:58 pm

Testors has elected to discontinue several lines of popular model paint. These have been cornerstones in the hobby for many years. Personally I am quite peeved as much of my scenery colour palette is based on Polyscale paints.

Here is a link to some information on MRH: http://model-railroad-hobbyist.com/node/13972
Mark
//S
CSD

Re: Testors Discontinues Polyscale, Floquil and Pactra

Postby railtwister » Tue May 28, 2013 8:59 am

Hi Mark,

I agree it is disappointing, I have been using Floquil paints for many years, although they have never really been the same since Testors bought the company and changed the solvent from DioSol, first to Rev-1 then mineral spirits many years ago. We went through a similar thing several years ago, when Testors discontinued the Flo-Stain line of stains. While I never was able to warm up to the water based paints like Polly-S and then Polly-Scale for models, I did occasionally use them for touch up work or scenery.

Since you are using the water based products, and at that, mostly for scenery, what I would suggest doing, is to take the colors you are most fond of, and paint them on a piece of white card or styrene (about 1/2 the size of an index card), and make a note of the colors name & sku number on the back, just for reference. Keep the cards on file in a safe, dry place, and then, when you need more of that color, take the card to a big box home store and have them mix to match using their computer color analyser. Around here, Home Depot will mix up a small jar (several ounces) which is normally sold to decorators as a sample, for less than the price of a one ounce jar from Testors. They will even print an extra mixing formula label that you can stick on the back of your reference card if you ask for it.