SDP40F project

SDP40F project

Postby WillYart » Sat Nov 26, 2016 2:46 pm

Hi everybody, I've had the SDP40F on my mind lately because Amtrak used it, and we have no US passenger stock in TT (that I know of anyway). Although I've been quiet on this board I've been lurking, enjoying seeing what you all are up to. Yesterday we ran the TT train for Thanksgiving guests!

Anyway, regarding this locomotive the additional advantage is that it was used by freight lines through 2001, according to Wikipedia.

So it's very versatile, could be used for passenger or fright.

Thinking of drafting this prototype in CAD for:

Phase I - Use in a computer game and eventually

Phase II - Once it's sufficiently refined, creating a physical TT scale model (Phase II of the project).

Doing something like this for me could easily become a lifetime project; already such projects are time consuming; in my case further slowed down because I'm new to all the techniques and skills needed: being proficient at Blender (my CAD/CAM program), molding with resin, etc.

EDIT: Meant to say, I'm looking for feedback on the feasibility of the project and whether this is an appealing direction (or not). Particularly, does anyone have pictures and dimensions of the prototype? Whatever I do, I want to get the nose right, I want a faithful representation of the prototype for these purposes.
WillYart

Re: SDP40F project

Postby Bernd » Sat Nov 26, 2016 4:22 pm

Personally I'd like to see an EMD E A&B unit for a passenger train.

Bernd
Bernd

Postby areibel » Sat Nov 26, 2016 6:11 pm

I can't remember without digging out some magazines, but aren't they pretty close to the FP45's? If they're the same (or the CAD can be modified a bit) that might give you a couple more options? Or shorten it up a bit and do an F45 too?
areibel

Postby AstroGoat760 » Sat Nov 26, 2016 8:12 pm

I would be interested in a SDP40F, especially if cars that match it could be made.
Course Set, Speed - Maximum Warp, PUNCH IT!