SD70Ace

Re: SD70Ace

Postby Zs12 » Sat Feb 09, 2013 9:45 am

Arseny wrote:P.S. If you want to produce modern locomotive, and want to get more customers, look at the GE C36-7 or GE C30-7.

If the GE C36-7 and/or C30-7 were nicely done and affordable, I would be in!
Zs12
 
Posts: 288
Images: 0
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2010 8:31 am

Re: SD70Ace

Postby Rob M » Sat Feb 09, 2013 12:27 pm

We'll see. I have a new smaller diameter cutter coming today and should have a fairly complete prototype soon. Still not sure how I'm going to make some of the details like handrails and horns but everything else has been coming out with pretty good detail.

Dynamic brake, will be a little better with the new cutter.
Image
User avatar
Rob M
 
Posts: 614
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 12:35 pm
Location: Northern Wisconsin

Re: SD70Ace

Postby areibel » Sat Feb 09, 2013 12:47 pm

You could do the artwork for the handrails, fan grilles, etc and see what it would cost to get them etched?
Horns might be a problem, I'll have to see what style and stack is used on them, but there are a couple existing horns in TT that might work?
areibel
 
Posts: 1773
Images: 7
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 10:12 am
Location: Cambridge Springs PA

Re: SD70Ace

Postby Rob M » Sat Feb 09, 2013 1:02 pm

Etching should work. Might be able to have an actual fan under the fan grills, that would be nice!

Here is a good view of the horns
Image
User avatar
Rob M
 
Posts: 614
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 12:35 pm
Location: Northern Wisconsin

Re: SD70Ace

Postby MacG » Sat Feb 09, 2013 1:21 pm

Nice work with the new cutter. All manually programmed with the line code NC? With my 3D-CAM software I have some too many code and a long time of milling. 133 minutes for this.
Lok-n-Roll.de - we send worldwide :wink:
User avatar
MacG
 
Posts: 1027
Images: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 1:19 pm
Location: Dresden, Germany

Re: SD70Ace

Postby Rob M » Sat Feb 09, 2013 1:35 pm

MacG wrote:Nice work with the new cutter. All manually programmed with the line code NC? With my 3D-CAM software I have some too many code and a long time of milling. 133 minutes for this.


Haven't received the new cutter yet. This one was done with a .020" (0.0008mm). The new one will be half that size. I think that is about the smallest practical size to use. With a perfectly square inside corner, when you apply paint it will probably build up to the same radius.

No, I don't manually create the nc code. I'm using CamBam for that. On your car end, did you machine a positive or negative pattern? With positive you are creating the actual part, with negative you are creating the mold for the part.
User avatar
Rob M
 
Posts: 614
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 12:35 pm
Location: Northern Wisconsin

Re: SD70Ace

Postby MacG » Sat Feb 09, 2013 4:10 pm

Oh sorry, I over read it with the new one. For a 0.20" (0,5mm) cutter really good.

I have milled the negative pattern. At a positive you have the problem with inner sharp corners. Like the transition wall to rivet.
Lok-n-Roll.de - we send worldwide :wink:
User avatar
MacG
 
Posts: 1027
Images: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 1:19 pm
Location: Dresden, Germany

Re: SD70Ace

Postby Rob M » Thu Feb 14, 2013 5:11 pm

Pics don't really do it justice but this is coming along quite nice. The main body is ready to go and the cab is almost done. :dance:

Image
Image
Image
User avatar
Rob M
 
Posts: 614
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 12:35 pm
Location: Northern Wisconsin

Re: SD70Ace

Postby ConducTTor » Thu Feb 14, 2013 5:13 pm

Gimme!
My website: https://www.ttnut.com
It's the website you're already on. But if you want to be even more on it, click the link.
User avatar
ConducTTor
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8666
Images: 13
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 4:52 pm
Location: Atlanta GA USA

Re: SD70Ace

Postby jmass » Thu Feb 14, 2013 5:18 pm

does anyone have any idea what you would use as a chassis? looks fantastic by the way!
User avatar
jmass
 
Posts: 817
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 6:39 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Prototypes / Models

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests