PVM Alco FA and FB kit BUILD

PVM Alco FA and FB kit BUILD

Postby ConducTTor » Sat Nov 12, 2011 7:55 pm

Figured I'd start this since I'm thinking of how to motorize etc. these castings.

My initial thought is that since I have the same number of A and B units, I'll only motorize the Bs and leave the As as dummies to house large speakers. I'll use modified versions of what I call the "Skeleton" chassis design that I'm using for my UB. The main reason I'm asking is because as usual, I'll make everything available for others.

Any thoughts?
My website: http://www.ttnut.com
It's the website you're already on. But if you want to be even more on it, click the link.
User avatar
ConducTTor
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8634
Images: 13
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 4:52 pm
Location: Atlanta GA USA

Re: PVM Alco FA and FB kit BUILD

Postby Arseny » Sat Nov 12, 2011 8:13 pm

Good idea, but as for me - I have only A unit(s). Will your chassis/power unit be suitable for A unit too?

Do you think it will be better than Hollywood Foundry?
User avatar
Arseny
 
Posts: 2713
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 4:42 am
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia

Re: PVM Alco FA and FB kit BUILD

Postby ConducTTor » Sat Nov 12, 2011 8:34 pm

Well, I only wanted to power the B unit because I don't have to take into account the cab and lighting for it in the design. That would lead to the A unit chassis being very cheap since it doesn't require much of anything. And it would leave a ton of room for a big speaker for BIG sound :)

Will it be better than HF? I suppose that's a question for someone who will have both to compare side by side. I don't have any HF parts so I don't have an opinion of them.

Anyway, keep the responses coming - if there ends up being a large group of people who want power for the A and don't want to use HF, I'll probably do a design for it as well.
My website: http://www.ttnut.com
It's the website you're already on. But if you want to be even more on it, click the link.
User avatar
ConducTTor
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8634
Images: 13
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 4:52 pm
Location: Atlanta GA USA

Re: PVM Alco FA and FB kit BUILD

Postby Arseny » Sat Nov 12, 2011 8:43 pm

Ok, I've purchased TWO A-units, so I think I can be just that man who can compare your chassis and HF's one :)

I think it will be good enough even without the lighting for the cab. ;)
From the other side - even if you motorize B-unit, you can't use it without A-unit, am I right? So you need to light the cabin in any case - of course, if you need it!

If you motorize A-unit, you can use either only FA as well as FA+FB. But if you motorize B-unit, you can use only FA+FB pair!
So I think it's better to motorize FA.
Last edited by Arseny on Sat Nov 12, 2011 9:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Arseny
 
Posts: 2713
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 4:42 am
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia

Re: PVM Alco FA and FB kit BUILD

Postby ConducTTor » Sat Nov 12, 2011 8:49 pm

Arseny wrote:Ok, I've purchased TWO A-units, so I think I can be just that man who can compare you chassis and HF's one :)

I think it will be good enoght even without the lighting for the cab. ;)
From the other side - even if you motorize B-unit, you can't use it without A-unit, am I right? So you need to light the cabin in any case - of course, if you need it!

If you motorize A-unit, you can use either only FA as well as FA+FB. But if you motorize B-unit, you can use only FA+FB pair!
So I think it's better to motorize FA.


Good points....
My website: http://www.ttnut.com
It's the website you're already on. But if you want to be even more on it, click the link.
User avatar
ConducTTor
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8634
Images: 13
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 4:52 pm
Location: Atlanta GA USA

Re: PVM Alco FA and FB kit BUILD

Postby Marquette » Sat Nov 12, 2011 10:55 pm

I have an A-B-A set on the way shortly so either arrangement works for me, though as Arseny said, the lighting needs to be done either way...
http://espeett.blogspot.com - The SP in 1:120 - my attempt at a blog
#include <std/disclaimer.h>
User avatar
Marquette
 
Posts: 2087
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 8:16 pm

Re: PVM Alco FA and FB kit BUILD

Postby ConducTTor » Sat Nov 12, 2011 11:04 pm

Well for the lighting I was thinking that a decoder would go in the A unit and I'd just run two wires to the B for the motor. If I did an A powered chassis and the B as a dummy that would still require 2 wires running to the B for sound. But I suppose having everything in the A is probably easier/better for most. Keep the comments coming....I'm not totally convinced just yet......
My website: http://www.ttnut.com
It's the website you're already on. But if you want to be even more on it, click the link.
User avatar
ConducTTor
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8634
Images: 13
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 4:52 pm
Location: Atlanta GA USA

Re: PVM Alco FA and FB kit BUILD

Postby Marquette » Sun Nov 13, 2011 8:58 am

The more I think about it, the more I think the A needs to be powered. For smaller shelf-type layouts engine length can be a big factor in what you can do operationally; having to run a B unit means one less passenger car or two less freight cars in your train.

That, and: some folk may not have ordered a B unit!
http://espeett.blogspot.com - The SP in 1:120 - my attempt at a blog
#include <std/disclaimer.h>
User avatar
Marquette
 
Posts: 2087
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 8:16 pm

Re: PVM Alco FA and FB kit BUILD

Postby Arseny » Sun Nov 13, 2011 9:20 am

Marquette wrote:The more I think about it, the more I think the A needs to be powered. For smaller shelf-type layouts engine length can be a big factor in what you can do operationally; having to run a B unit means one less passenger car or two less freight cars in your train.

That, and: some folk may not have ordered a B unit!


That's I am talking about!

And you can put a decoder into B unit, and sound, and additional condenser to improve smoothness.
User avatar
Arseny
 
Posts: 2713
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 4:42 am
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia

Re: PVM Alco FA and FB kit BUILD

Postby ConducTTor » Sun Nov 13, 2011 12:30 pm

A lot of good points I hadn't thought about. Ok, A it is.
My website: http://www.ttnut.com
It's the website you're already on. But if you want to be even more on it, click the link.
User avatar
ConducTTor
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8634
Images: 13
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 4:52 pm
Location: Atlanta GA USA

Next

Return to Prototypes / Models

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests