Prototype chassis for the GP38-2

Re: Prototype chassis for the GP38-2

Postby richardedmonds » Sat Jul 19, 2014 7:11 am

Not to take any thunder from bernd's excellent work but has anybody tried Sazmodels trucks under a GP38 at all
richardedmonds
 
Posts: 713
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 12:08 pm
Location: London England

Re: Prototype chassis for the GP38-2

Postby richardedmonds » Sat Jul 19, 2014 10:20 am

Bernd wrote:Hey no problem Richard. I'm kind of stalled on that project at the moment.

Your idea sounds pretty good. You'd need to make a chassis though wouldn't you?

Bernd


Hi Bernd
Yes I would but I think that would be quite easy as the saz model unit comes with a variety of parts that would assist greatly.
Lol that was an unashamed plug for Mark
richardedmonds
 
Posts: 713
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 12:08 pm
Location: London England

Re: Prototype chassis for the GP38-2

Postby richardedmonds » Sat Jul 19, 2014 11:42 am

Oh well now i've gone and shot my mouth off does anybody know how all these parts are designed to fit together. Or is it a do what you have to do to make it fit something or other. I think I can work the metal clip out but what about the yoke and U shaped pieces
richardedmonds
 
Posts: 713
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 12:08 pm
Location: London England

Re: Prototype chassis for the GP38-2

Postby CSD » Sat Jul 19, 2014 12:45 pm

richardedmonds wrote:Oh well now i've gone and shot my mouth off does anybody know how all these parts are designed to fit together...


Perhaps this will help?...
Truck Installation.pdf
(267 KiB) Downloaded 149 times


Looks like I'm going to have to look into making some instructions. Judging by the attachment, not sure it will help...
Mark
//S
User avatar
CSD
 
Posts: 2269
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 1:31 pm
Location: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

Re: Prototype chassis for the GP38-2

Postby CSD » Sat Jul 19, 2014 1:13 pm

Added a few more pages.

Truck Installation (2).pdf
(1.09 MiB) Downloaded 164 times
Mark
//S
User avatar
CSD
 
Posts: 2269
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 1:31 pm
Location: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

Re: Prototype chassis for the GP38-2

Postby ConducTTor » Sat Jul 19, 2014 1:14 pm

richardedmonds wrote:Not to take any thunder from bernd's excellent work but has anybody tried Sazmodels trucks under a GP38 at all


I'm doing that at the moment....although it's for my U Boat. But the concepts are the same and I'll be doing a GP38 version of my design.
What people think: "liberals/conservatives are ruining my country"
What the powerful know: divide and conquer
User avatar
ConducTTor
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8291
Images: 13
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 4:52 pm
Location: Atlanta GA USA

Re: Prototype chassis for the GP38-2

Postby richardedmonds » Sat Jul 19, 2014 3:45 pm

Nice one Alex be good to see how you tackle it
richardedmonds
 
Posts: 713
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2009 12:08 pm
Location: London England

Re: Prototype chassis for the GP38-2

Postby Rob M » Fri Mar 27, 2015 12:10 pm

That HO motor looks very intriguing!

Do you happen to know about how fast it runs? The Kato N motors are a perfect size for TT but they run way too fast and need about 60:1 reduction in the gear tower. I think the MTB trucks have around half that for the gear ratio.
User avatar
Rob M
 
Posts: 613
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 12:35 pm
Location: Northern Wisconsin

Re: Prototype chassis for the GP38-2

Postby LVG1 » Fri Apr 10, 2015 7:10 am

Rob M wrote:The Kato N motors are a perfect size for TT but they run way too fast and need about 60:1 reduction in the gear tower. I think the MTB trucks have around half that for the gear ratio.

Bernd wrote:Now I would think if you are using DCC you can set the top voltage lower to get the correct speed.

If you have two motors running double as fast as they should, you can connect them in series. So, either one gets only half of the voltage.
"Let's eat, grandpa."
Punctuation marks save lives!
User avatar
LVG1
 
Posts: 864
Images: 34
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 10:01 am
Location: Guben / Gubin; Germany? Poland?—No, Lusatia!

Re: Prototype chassis for the GP38-2

Postby gerhard_k » Fri Apr 10, 2015 8:19 am

Bernd wrote:
LVG1 wrote:If you have two motors running double as fast as they should, you can connect them in series. So, either one gets only half of the voltage.


True. That would work also. Have done that before in HO scale with small motors running to fast at 12 volts.

Bernd

But there's a limit to that - trying to run a motor at too small a fraction of its designed speed will often give poor low-speed performance and response, which you need for satisfactory switching.
Sometimes you win... sometimes you learn.
gerhard_k
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2013 9:27 pm
Location: Annapolis MD USA

PreviousNext

Return to Prototypes / Models

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests