New to TT and the forums

New to TT and the forums

Postby Seligman Sub » Mon Feb 09, 2015 1:00 am

Greetings all, thanks for having me! My name is Brad and I'm dipping my toe into the TT scale arena with a U15 hopper order off of Shapeways. I'm a semi active modeler in both N and HO and after reading up on TT recently it really fueled my interest in the scale. I did a couple card stock models of a ES44 which reaffirmed my interest; it really does seem like the goldilocks scale.

I've perused the forum and if I remember correctly there was a attempt to see if a NA track manufacturer would be willing to create flew track tooling. As I recall they wanted ~$10k. If that's the case has there been any thought about trying to raise funding via kickstarter? Not sure if there is enough NA TT modelers to raise the funding but if you could get a couple hundred the average donation would be reasonable. Seems to me TT needs quality NA prototype flex track as the foundation for a revival.

I'm hopeful that baring a miracle US entrant into the TT scale from the manufacturing side, that the pending 3D printing revolution will breathe new life into this scale. Although I have to admit even with very fine detail that top of the line SLA printers produce they still leave print lines and I'm not sure they'll be able to overcome that. Still exciting times. Thanks again for having me.
Seligman Sub

Re: New to TT and the forums

Postby CaTTwoman281 » Mon Feb 09, 2015 2:17 am

Welcome to the wonderful world of TT, Brad!
Real Women Not Only Drive Diesel Trucks, They Drive Diesel Tractors!
CaTTwoman281

Postby j p » Mon Feb 09, 2015 3:25 am

Welcome to the TT community, Brad!
I am not sure if U15 hopper was the easiest start. I have not tried to make those yet.
But I have a decal set for SCL version of the U15 if you need one.