New layout

Re: New layout

Postby ConducTTor » Sun May 30, 2010 9:11 pm

A quick loop through the partially done staging.......

What people think: "liberals/conservatives are ruining my country"
What the powerful know: divide and conquer
User avatar
ConducTTor
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8293
Images: 13
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 4:52 pm
Location: Atlanta GA USA

Re: New layout

Postby Zs12 » Mon May 31, 2010 10:05 am

Nice to see your rapid progress! Mine is - sadly - much slower.

What buildings you've planned to use? You said, you won't model a specific region or country.
Zs12
 
Posts: 288
Images: 0
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2010 8:31 am

Re: New layout

Postby ConducTTor » Mon May 31, 2010 10:47 am

I want a lot of greenery (grass, trees, bushes). I guess my idea is of small / medium size station on the outskirts of town. I plan on very few buildings - a station (Auhagen "Klasdorf" - which I'll rename to something else) and a goods shed probably made up of two Auhagen large freight sheds.

However, after seeing what the trains look like going through the large radii in the staging I'm thinking of redoing the whole upper deck (the station) to get rid of the sharper curves. I would also like to incorporate a small engine shed somewhere.
What people think: "liberals/conservatives are ruining my country"
What the powerful know: divide and conquer
User avatar
ConducTTor
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8293
Images: 13
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 4:52 pm
Location: Atlanta GA USA

Re: New layout

Postby Zs12 » Mon May 31, 2010 12:17 pm

No american building? Hm, okay ...

Auhagen's new kits actually looking great, especially their smaller brick-work. Only problem, they supply no separate brick-work plates (not yet), that are necessary for more elaborated modifications, like the dividing of the freight shed from the Klasdorf station building, what I want to do.

ConducTTor wrote:However, after seeing what the trains look like going through the large radii in the staging I'm thinking of redoing the whole upper deck (the station) to get rid of the sharper curves.

That's exactly what I've done the last time, and I think, it worth it. :!:
Zs12
 
Posts: 288
Images: 0
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2010 8:31 am

Re: New layout

Postby ConducTTor » Mon May 31, 2010 12:22 pm

lüTTe wrote:No american building? Hm, okay ...


The buildings are actually of very little interest to me so I'm not very concerned with their appearance. Plus, my layout is not being modeled after any specific country or even region. It's more of an imaginary place I guess :smile:
What people think: "liberals/conservatives are ruining my country"
What the powerful know: divide and conquer
User avatar
ConducTTor
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8293
Images: 13
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 4:52 pm
Location: Atlanta GA USA

Re: New layout

Postby CSD » Mon May 31, 2010 2:14 pm

ConducTTor wrote:A quick loop through the partially done staging.......


Fantastic!
Mark
//S
User avatar
CSD
 
Posts: 2270
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 1:31 pm
Location: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

Re: New layout

Postby BTTB Fan » Tue Jun 01, 2010 9:29 pm

ConducTTor wrote:A quick loop through the partially done staging.......

Good stuff! I am envious!
Alexei
User avatar
BTTB Fan
 
Posts: 677
Images: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 9:01 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: New layout

Postby ConducTTor » Wed Jun 16, 2010 3:04 am

While waiting for more switches to continue work, I decided to get a little old school and pulled out a bunch of BTTB wagons. The loco is one my first ever. It's about 26 years old but still has no problem with a 2.5 meter train :grin:

What people think: "liberals/conservatives are ruining my country"
What the powerful know: divide and conquer
User avatar
ConducTTor
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8293
Images: 13
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 4:52 pm
Location: Atlanta GA USA

Re: New layout

Postby CaTTwoman281 » Wed Jun 16, 2010 4:02 pm

ConducTTor wrote:While waiting for more switches to continue work, I decided to get a little old school and pulled out a bunch of BTTB wagons. The loco is one my first ever. It's about 26 years old but still has no problem with a 2.5 meter train :grin:


Nothing wrong with old locomotives...
Real Women Not Only Drive Diesel Trucks, They Drive Diesel Tractors!
User avatar
CaTTwoman281
 
Posts: 517
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 2:12 am
Location: Bowdon, Georgia, USA

Re: New layout

Postby ConducTTor » Wed Aug 25, 2010 10:11 pm

Finally got a chance to work on the layout a bit. All the rail laying is done for staging. Now everything needs to be wired and then the rail has to be cut at each of the joins of the 4 parts of the layout.

staging_left.jpg


staging_middle.jpg


staging_right.jpg
What people think: "liberals/conservatives are ruining my country"
What the powerful know: divide and conquer
User avatar
ConducTTor
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8293
Images: 13
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 4:52 pm
Location: Atlanta GA USA

PreviousNext

Return to Layouts / Track Plans

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests