Need module ideas

Re: Need module ideas

Postby ConducTTor » Thu Jun 21, 2012 10:44 pm

Played around a little and came up with two 1ft X 2ft locomotive depot modules. This first one is slightly stolen from a plan that was recently posted on tt-board. It uses Tillig's new 3 way switch, has a loco shed and an administration house. The plan can be modified a bit and turned into industry for switching. My second plan is again a loco depot but uses a turn table - I'll post it later because it's on my other pc.

loc_depot_module.jpg
What people think: "liberals/conservatives are ruining my country"
What the powerful know: divide and conquer
User avatar
ConducTTor
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8293
Images: 13
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 4:52 pm
Location: Atlanta GA USA

Re: Need module ideas

Postby ConducTTor » Thu Jun 21, 2012 10:46 pm

P.S.

Has anyone used the new 3 way switch? If so, is it friendly to small wheelbase locomotives?
What people think: "liberals/conservatives are ruining my country"
What the powerful know: divide and conquer
User avatar
ConducTTor
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8293
Images: 13
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 4:52 pm
Location: Atlanta GA USA

Re: Need module ideas

Postby dileTTante » Fri Jun 22, 2012 1:52 am

It appears you have no space at all for a locomotive or anything at the entrance to the 3-way turnout, that is, to the left of the points. I don't see how any operations can be done.
-Terry
dileTTante
 
Posts: 689
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 12:37 am

Re: Need module ideas

Postby ConducTTor » Fri Jun 22, 2012 9:42 am

Well yeah. I was thinking it would someday but up against something that has a line connecting to it. In the mean time, it would be easy to add a super micro module consisting of a piece of rail to but up against the switch.
What people think: "liberals/conservatives are ruining my country"
What the powerful know: divide and conquer
User avatar
ConducTTor
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8293
Images: 13
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 4:52 pm
Location: Atlanta GA USA

Re: Need module ideas

Postby Arseny » Fri Jun 22, 2012 9:53 am

I am afraid 3-way switch is looking quite unrealistic. (There are some 3-way switches on real railroads, but very, very few).
As for me, I did not use them, but some people told me that it is do not work good.
Maybe you use 2 usual switches?
User avatar
Arseny
 
Posts: 2617
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 4:42 am
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia

Re: Need module ideas

Postby ConducTTor » Fri Jun 22, 2012 11:50 am

Arseny wrote:some people told me that it is do not work good.


Dammit.

Arseny wrote:Maybe you use 2 usual switches?


They take up twice as much space (I don't want to use EW1s - would use EW2).
What people think: "liberals/conservatives are ruining my country"
What the powerful know: divide and conquer
User avatar
ConducTTor
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8293
Images: 13
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 4:52 pm
Location: Atlanta GA USA

Re: Need module ideas

Postby dileTTante » Fri Jun 22, 2012 8:23 pm

Arseny is right. A 3-way is not realistic. A double slip isn't either. They are too expensive for N. American roads to want to maintain and I've seen them used only in large passenger terminals like Chicago, New York City and Toronto.

Suggest forgetting turntable. Suggest following module standards so you can use it at a train show for displaying the locomotives you plan to make.
dileTTante
 
Posts: 689
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 12:37 am

Re: Need module ideas

Postby ConducTTor » Fri Jun 22, 2012 10:01 pm

Thanks for the feedback. A bunch to think about......

Why no turntable though?
What people think: "liberals/conservatives are ruining my country"
What the powerful know: divide and conquer
User avatar
ConducTTor
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8293
Images: 13
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 4:52 pm
Location: Atlanta GA USA

Re: Need module ideas

Postby CSD » Fri Jun 22, 2012 10:07 pm

Why don't you think about doing something a la jpachl?
Mark
//S
User avatar
CSD
 
Posts: 2270
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 1:31 pm
Location: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

Re: Need module ideas

Postby Bill Dixon » Fri Jun 22, 2012 10:12 pm

I would build a couple of 1' x 2' modules that would fit together in a larger layout.
That would allow you to build a couple of nice scenes and practice scenery, track work and such.
When you get the larger space you will already have the nucleus of your new layout.

Bill Dixon
Regards
Bill Dixon
TT-Tracks
North Vancouver, BC
Bill Dixon
 
Posts: 1001
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 10:57 pm
Location: North Vancouver, B.C.

PreviousNext

Return to Layouts / Track Plans

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron