Murad's layout

Murad's layout

Postby Murad » Fri Oct 02, 2015 4:19 am

Hi there!
desided to start my own layout.
size is 4'x2'
The main spot is gonna be a 1' roundtable and a steam depot. Right now I'm trying to choose between two schemes:
TT1.jpg

the first one with depot for two locomotives and a storage? factory?
pros:
a lot of rails
some space to butboxcars
cons:
is it common to see a factory by the depot?


TT2.jpg

the second variant have a bigger depot
pros:
the roundtable looks more suitable with a bigger depot
more place for engines
cons:
no place for cars
there is nothing on the lower left corner

what do you think about this? any advices? will take a piece of advice with pleasure
Last edited by Murad on Sun Oct 04, 2015 5:27 am, edited 2 times in total.
WTB any of the HP Products locomotive parts
Murad
 
Posts: 126
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 9:32 pm
Location: Moscow, Zelenograd, Russia

Re: Murad's layout

Postby ConducTTor » Fri Oct 02, 2015 4:32 pm

The images are not showing....
What people think: "liberals/conservatives are ruining my country"
What the powerful know: divide and conquer
User avatar
ConducTTor
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8293
Images: 13
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 4:52 pm
Location: Atlanta GA USA

Re: Murad's layout

Postby Murad » Sun Oct 04, 2015 5:28 am

fixed!
WTB any of the HP Products locomotive parts
Murad
 
Posts: 126
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 9:32 pm
Location: Moscow, Zelenograd, Russia

Re: Murad's layout

Postby ConducTTor » Sun Oct 04, 2015 1:52 pm

I think the second version makes more sense. In the lower left corner where there is nothing, you can put a depot house and add a few tracks to the turntable where you can park another 1 or 2 locomotives. Also a couple of tracks where you can put things like wheels...maybe leave a tender on one. Maybe a flatbed car that the depot would use for moving various stuff?
What people think: "liberals/conservatives are ruining my country"
What the powerful know: divide and conquer
User avatar
ConducTTor
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8293
Images: 13
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 4:52 pm
Location: Atlanta GA USA

Re: Murad's layout

Postby gerhard_k » Sun Oct 04, 2015 2:05 pm

ConducTTor wrote:I think the second version makes more sense. In the lower left corner where there is nothing, you can put a depot house and add a few tracks to the turntable where you can park another 1 or 2 locomotives. Also a couple of tracks where you can put things like wheels...maybe leave a tender on one. Maybe a flatbed car that the depot would use for moving various stuff?

I like the second version also, and Alex' suggestions. But why such a large turntable? 1' = 120 feet in TT, a 9" turntable (90 feet) should handle most engines (other than articulateds) and might free up some precious inches of space for other tracks on this small layout/module.
Sometimes you win... sometimes you learn.
gerhard_k
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2013 9:27 pm
Location: Annapolis MD USA

Re: Murad's layout

Postby Murad » Sun Oct 04, 2015 2:31 pm

gerhard_k wrote: a 9" turntable (90 feet) should handle most engines (other than articulateds)


Actually, this turntable is for articulated with #4900 tender =)
WTB any of the HP Products locomotive parts
Murad
 
Posts: 126
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 9:32 pm
Location: Moscow, Zelenograd, Russia

Re: Murad's layout

Postby Murad » Sun Oct 04, 2015 4:10 pm

made some changes
TT4.jpg


i really like it
TT3.jpg
WTB any of the HP Products locomotive parts
Murad
 
Posts: 126
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 9:32 pm
Location: Moscow, Zelenograd, Russia

Re: Murad's layout

Postby ConducTTor » Sun Oct 04, 2015 7:30 pm

That looks much better. I prefer the first one.
What people think: "liberals/conservatives are ruining my country"
What the powerful know: divide and conquer
User avatar
ConducTTor
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8293
Images: 13
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 4:52 pm
Location: Atlanta GA USA


Return to Layouts / Track Plans

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron