MTB Switchmotor

Re: MTB Switchmotor

Postby Richard-B » Tue Nov 17, 2015 1:26 pm

I was considering scrap PC board (the green type) as the mounting substrate;
Readily available here in Silicon Valley...
  • It is dimensionally stable
  • Thin...
  • Readily Glueable
  • Holds screws well
  • ...and cheap!
Richard Brennan - http://www.tt-west.com
Somewhere between San Francisco and Budapest...
User avatar
Richard-B
 
Posts: 961
Images: 1
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2009 5:29 pm
Location: San Leandro, CA

Re: MTB Switchmotor

Postby Tom Dempsey » Tue Nov 17, 2015 2:13 pm

Stick with the .062 board, .031 and .045 get a little lively when something on them is providing thrust.
Tom Dempsey
 
Posts: 259
Images: 1
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 9:08 pm

Re: MTB Switchmotor

Postby Richard-B » Tue Nov 17, 2015 2:20 pm

Tom Dempsey wrote:Stick with the .062 board, .031 and .045 get a little lively when something on them is providing thrust.
Good tip...
I'll look more closely at the discards bin at my local used electronics pusher...
http://www.halted.com
Richard Brennan - http://www.tt-west.com
Somewhere between San Francisco and Budapest...
User avatar
Richard-B
 
Posts: 961
Images: 1
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2009 5:29 pm
Location: San Leandro, CA

Re: MTB Switchmotor

Postby CN-TT » Tue Nov 17, 2015 2:36 pm

I'm using some leftover 5mm plywood.

MP1_a.JPG
MP1_b.JPG
You gotta do much more than believe if you really wanna change things!

"The GuiTTar Case" Gallery
"The GuiTTar Case" YouTube
User avatar
CN-TT
 
Posts: 382
Images: 99
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2014 2:51 pm
Location: Germany

Re: MTB Switchmotor

Postby sacto-tt » Tue Nov 17, 2015 5:34 pm

I have some similar scrap I was thinking of using. Probably one layer of standoff connected to the turnout and then one layer to actually mount the switch machine. That would allow some room for ballast or other track scenery.
-Joe-
sacto-tt
 
Posts: 221
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 3:23 pm
Location: Sacramento, CA USA

Re: MTB Switchmotor

Postby CN-TT » Wed Nov 18, 2015 1:46 pm

I connected the MP1 to DCC track power via a bridge rectifier and 50 Ohm resistor for manual electric control. The switch is in the background.
MP1_c.JPG

MP1_d.JPG

MP1_e.JPG
You gotta do much more than believe if you really wanna change things!

"The GuiTTar Case" Gallery
"The GuiTTar Case" YouTube
User avatar
CN-TT
 
Posts: 382
Images: 99
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2014 2:51 pm
Location: Germany

Re: MTB Switchmotor

Postby ConducTTor » Wed Nov 18, 2015 2:21 pm

Nice! It also would be very easy to put the switch on the rear facia....or disguise it as a bush or tree or something.
My website: https://www.ttnut.com
It's the website you're already on. But if you want to be even more on it, click the link.
User avatar
ConducTTor
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8687
Images: 13
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 4:52 pm
Location: Atlanta GA USA

Re: MTB Switchmotor

Postby CN-TT » Wed Nov 18, 2015 3:24 pm

Let's see if I can find a hollow model tree!?
You gotta do much more than believe if you really wanna change things!

"The GuiTTar Case" Gallery
"The GuiTTar Case" YouTube
User avatar
CN-TT
 
Posts: 382
Images: 99
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2014 2:51 pm
Location: Germany

Re: MTB Switchmotor

Postby ConducTTor » Wed Nov 18, 2015 5:09 pm

Easy - drill a hole in it :) That's what I do - then I glue a spike in there and that way I can easily plant it anywhere and move it if I want.
My website: https://www.ttnut.com
It's the website you're already on. But if you want to be even more on it, click the link.
User avatar
ConducTTor
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8687
Images: 13
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 4:52 pm
Location: Atlanta GA USA

Re: MTB Switchmotor

Postby sacto-tt » Wed Nov 18, 2015 5:29 pm

CN-TT - Very clever way to do that. Keeps wiring to a minimum. Since it isn't a stall, it isn't on all the time. Nice.
-Joe-
sacto-tt
 
Posts: 221
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 3:23 pm
Location: Sacramento, CA USA

PreviousNext

Return to Electric / DCC

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests