MTB Switchmotor

Re: MTB Switchmotor

Postby Bill Dixon » Sun Oct 11, 2015 5:09 pm

CN-TT wrote:Now I'm really surprised! MTB has it's turnout motors for sale :thumbup:
https://www.elriwa.de/produkte/gleise/u ... lurantrieb

Is this a stall machine or a twin coil type?
It looks to be a stall type.
Regards
Bill Dixon
TT-Tracks
North Vancouver, BC
Bill Dixon
 
Posts: 1340
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 10:57 pm
Location: North Vancouver, B.C.

Re: MTB Switchmotor

Postby MacG » Mon Oct 12, 2015 1:01 pm

Lok-n-Roll.de - we send worldwide :wink:
User avatar
MacG
 
Posts: 1047
Images: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 1:19 pm
Location: Dresden, Germany

Re: MTB MP1 Switchmotor

Postby Richard-B » Wed Oct 14, 2015 5:39 pm

MacG wrote:There is a motor inside.
It seems to be a rectified AC-DC input motor... driving a cam which moves an adjustable linear slider. Internal limit switches stop the motor at one of two positions.

The cam can set three stroke lengths... 3mm, 6mm, 9mm, and the slider can be adjusted relative to the cam to center the actuator.

With a bit of help from the Postal authorities... TT-West should have initial MTB MP1 samples at the Vancouver Train Expo, November 7th-8th. (I want to see them too!)

Please PM with any questions.
Last edited by Richard-B on Thu Oct 22, 2015 12:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Richard Brennan - http://www.tt-west.com
Somewhere between San Francisco and Budapest...
User avatar
Richard-B
 
Posts: 961
Images: 1
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2009 5:29 pm
Location: San Leandro, CA

Re: MTB MP1 Switchmotor

Postby krokodil » Wed Oct 21, 2015 4:12 pm

Richard-B wrote:
MacG wrote:There is a motor inside.
It seems to be a 'universal'-type AC-DC motor... driving a cam which moves an adjustable linear slider.


It has a standard DC motor with two diodes inside. This means you can use also AC power. In case of DC supply the COM port must be the positive pole. ( optimal for electronic control units to pull the corresponding input toward GND.).
Greetings from Austria
E.T.
User avatar
krokodil
 
Posts: 643
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 6:46 pm

Re: MTB Switchmotor

Postby krokodil » Wed Oct 21, 2015 5:26 pm

Here is the dissambled switch motor.

You can see the geared micromotor and also the two solid microswithes actuated by two red levers:

image.jpg
Mtb switchmotor assy
Last edited by krokodil on Thu Oct 22, 2015 4:28 am, edited 1 time in total.
Greetings from Austria
E.T.
User avatar
krokodil
 
Posts: 643
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 6:46 pm

Re: MTB Switchmotor

Postby Richard-B » Wed Oct 21, 2015 5:29 pm

krokodil wrote:Here is the dissambled switch motor.
ALL is revealed!!!
Thanks! This helps a lot...
Richard Brennan - http://www.tt-west.com
Somewhere between San Francisco and Budapest...
User avatar
Richard-B
 
Posts: 961
Images: 1
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2009 5:29 pm
Location: San Leandro, CA

Re: MTB MP1 Switchmotor

Postby krokodil » Thu Oct 22, 2015 4:27 am

krokodil wrote:
Richard-B wrote:
MacG wrote:There is a motor inside.
It seems to be a 'universal'-type AC-DC motor... driving a cam which moves an adjustable linear slider.


It has a standard DC motor with two diodes inside.



Sorry, just one diode inside as the motor is running always in the same direction.
Greetings from Austria
E.T.
User avatar
krokodil
 
Posts: 643
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 6:46 pm

Re: MTB Switchmotor

Postby sacto-tt » Mon Nov 16, 2015 6:12 pm

Has anyone tried connecting one of these directly to the bottom of a turnout? Or maybe with a standoff block?
I was planning on putting my track over foam and/or plywood and it would be easy to remove/reposition track if the switch motor came with the switch rather than having to deal with mounting it under the foam or plywood.
-Joe-
sacto-tt
 
Posts: 221
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 3:23 pm
Location: Sacramento, CA USA

Re: MTB Switchmotor

Postby ConducTTor » Mon Nov 16, 2015 11:02 pm

You can install the switch on a thin piece of wood and attach the motor to the under side. Then install the whole thing on your layout/module. You can remove it whenever you want and place it somewhere else - just fill in the remaining hole.
My website: https://www.ttnut.com
It's the website you're already on. But if you want to be even more on it, click the link.
User avatar
ConducTTor
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8687
Images: 13
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 4:52 pm
Location: Atlanta GA USA

Re: MTB Switchmotor

Postby sacto-tt » Tue Nov 17, 2015 2:06 am

Yes, that's exactly what I was thinking. I was just wondering if anyone had done it yet. The simplicity of the thing is what makes it so enticing, the control mechanism is just a switch. Nice.
-Joe-
sacto-tt
 
Posts: 221
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 3:23 pm
Location: Sacramento, CA USA

PreviousNext

Return to Electric / DCC

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron