Lok'n'Roll GP9 power kit

Re: Lok'n'Roll GP9 power kit

Postby areibel » Sat Apr 10, 2010 9:27 am

Duuuuude, you're reading my mind!
It probably wouldn't fit as is because of the high nose on the GP9, low on the GP38. But I've got one coming too, you can bet It'll get taken apart and examined closely! It looks like the same Tillig truck the PVM kit uses, but that will work. We just need to lengthen the bogie wheelbase a little and chop the nose.
Al
areibel
 
Posts: 1773
Images: 7
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 10:12 am
Location: Cambridge Springs PA

Re: Lok'n'Roll GP9 power kit

Postby ConducTTor » Sat Apr 10, 2010 3:17 pm

areibel wrote:.........It probably wouldn't fit as is because of the high nose on the GP9, low on the GP38. It looks like the same Tillig truck the PVM kit uses, but that will work. We just need to lengthen the bogie wheelbase a little and chop the nose.
Al


Exactly my thoughts.
My website: https://www.ttnut.com
It's the website you're already on. But if you want to be even more on it, click the link.
User avatar
ConducTTor
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8666
Images: 13
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 4:52 pm
Location: Atlanta GA USA

Re: Lok'n'Roll GP9 power kit

Postby ConducTTor » Fri Apr 23, 2010 11:33 pm

Quick update - I just received the Lok'n'Roll chassis (fastest shipping from Germany EVER). First impression is that this is a well thought out and well executed design. The chassis is relatively smooth and quiet right out of the box - I expect it to get better after some break in running. I'll hopefully have the body shell in a couple of weeks and can put them together and give you further thoughts / impressions.
My website: https://www.ttnut.com
It's the website you're already on. But if you want to be even more on it, click the link.
User avatar
ConducTTor
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8666
Images: 13
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 4:52 pm
Location: Atlanta GA USA

Re: Lok'n'Roll GP9 power kit

Postby areibel » Fri Apr 23, 2010 11:45 pm

Dang it! Mine isn't here yet!
But if you need a GP, just say the word. I've got a bunch if spares, I send you one.
Al
areibel
 
Posts: 1773
Images: 7
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 10:12 am
Location: Cambridge Springs PA

Re: Lok'n'Roll GP9 power kit

Postby ConducTTor » Fri Apr 23, 2010 11:50 pm

Word.

: )
My website: https://www.ttnut.com
It's the website you're already on. But if you want to be even more on it, click the link.
User avatar
ConducTTor
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8666
Images: 13
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 4:52 pm
Location: Atlanta GA USA

Re: Lok'n'Roll GP9 power kit

Postby ConducTTor » Sat May 29, 2010 1:53 am

If anyone is interested in this chassis, Lok n Roll has 3 more up on Ebay http://cgi.ebay.de/Motorisierungssatz-f ... 588790794b
My website: https://www.ttnut.com
It's the website you're already on. But if you want to be even more on it, click the link.
User avatar
ConducTTor
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8666
Images: 13
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 4:52 pm
Location: Atlanta GA USA

Re: Lok'n'Roll GP9 power kit

Postby jmass » Sat May 29, 2010 6:57 pm

judging from the looks of it, it doesnt come with directional lights does it.
User avatar
jmass
 
Posts: 817
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 6:39 pm

Re: Lok'n'Roll GP9 power kit

Postby ConducTTor » Sat May 29, 2010 7:38 pm

Nope, no lights. There is a guy that's adding a chip and - I believe - lights in Germany though. I'm following his progress.....
My website: https://www.ttnut.com
It's the website you're already on. But if you want to be even more on it, click the link.
User avatar
ConducTTor
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8666
Images: 13
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 4:52 pm
Location: Atlanta GA USA

Re: Lok'n'Roll GP9 power kit

Postby areibel » Sat May 29, 2010 8:23 pm

ConducTTor wrote:Nope, no lights. There is a guy that's adding a chip and - I believe - lights in Germany though. I'm following his progress.....

The way it's built, is there room on top to add a decoder board? I'd like to DCC mine , even if it's only to add the lights for now (when it shows up!)
And how is the construction going? Any pics you want to share?
Al
Still Waiting, PA
areibel
 
Posts: 1773
Images: 7
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 10:12 am
Location: Cambridge Springs PA

Re: Lok'n'Roll GP9 power kit

Postby ConducTTor » Sat May 29, 2010 9:00 pm

areibel wrote:The way it's built, is there room on top to add a decoder board?.....


I believe so. I need to dcc mine since that's the way I'm running my layout. I'll figure out a way.....

areibel wrote:And how is the construction going? Any pics you want to share?.......


I've disconnected from the world this weekend to dedicate to TTing. The #1 priority is to get all the rails done at the staging. As soon as that's done, I'll look at the Geep. BTW, I took a quick look at the Lionel to see how it comes apart and it doesn't seem too obvious. Wanna save me some time and give me a quick "this is how it comes apart"?
My website: https://www.ttnut.com
It's the website you're already on. But if you want to be even more on it, click the link.
User avatar
ConducTTor
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8666
Images: 13
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 4:52 pm
Location: Atlanta GA USA

PreviousNext

Return to Prototypes / Models

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests