Lok n Roll F3 arrived!

Lok n Roll F3 arrived!

Postby Petercat » Sat Sep 15, 2012 10:40 pm

Well, my Lok N Roll Santa Fe F3 has arrived, and is running around a small oval as I type.
Mind you, I have very little experience with TT scale engines, so bear with me as I give my initial impressions of this one. I can only compare it to engines from Z and N.
First off, so there are no misunderstandings, let me state that I am VERY happy with it overall, and feel that the price was below what I would have expected to pay for what is essentially a hand-built mechanism. Money well spent.
It ran very smoothly right out of the box, but was very noisy. I mean gear whine and a weird whistle that was barely below dog-whistle frequency.
It's been running forward for a little over 30 minutes now, and is noticeably quieter. At first, it was equally noisy in forward and in reverse. Now, forward is much quieter than reverse. The break-in is working. But the whistle is still there.
The detail quality of the shell is not good enough to satisfy a rivet counter, but it does look good on the track. This is a very subtle distinction. I think I can best say that there is nothing that jumps out to the eye and says "toy train". Which is pretty good, since the shell started life as exactly that, a toy train! Unless you are very familiar with the F3, you won't notice anything wrong. Repeat: It looks good on the track.
Whoa! The fuel tank just now fell off. Apparently the heat from the motor softened the sticky tape holding it on. There are two thin brass strips that the tape is applied to. Maybe I can replace them with steel and the motor magnets will hold it on. The glue holding the brass strips to the fuel tank also failed, which made replacing the fuel tank a real rectal discomfort. But without the fuel tank, the motor runs cool. A ventilation issue.