Lenz Compact commander

Re: Lenz Compact commander

Postby ConducTTor » Sat Mar 13, 2010 10:34 pm

I picked up a power supply today and things appear to work (so far only tested with two old non chipped locos). However, at 0 throttle the locomotives' lights are on and also there is a strange humming / buzzing coming from the motors. When the throttle is increased they moved as expected. Is this normal for analog locos on a DCC line?
What people think: "liberals/conservatives are ruining my country"
What the powerful know: divide and conquer
User avatar
ConducTTor
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8293
Images: 13
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 4:52 pm
Location: Atlanta GA USA

Re: Lenz Compact commander

Postby CSD » Sat Mar 13, 2010 11:01 pm

ConducTTor wrote: However, at 0 throttle the locomotives' lights are on and also there is a strange humming / buzzing coming from the motors. When the throttle is increased they moved as expected. Is this normal for analog locos on a DCC line?


Yes. DCC applies an AC waveform to the tracks. The humming you hear is the motor moving back and forth very quickly. To run the locomotives, address 0 actually applies a DC offset to the waveform to get the motor to spin. You will find that all the lights will be on at the same time, which is also normal. It is advisable that you not leave your non chipped locomotives on DCC powered tracks if not in use.
Mark
//S
User avatar
CSD
 
Posts: 2270
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 1:31 pm
Location: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

Re: Lenz Compact commander

Postby ConducTTor » Sun Mar 14, 2010 12:29 am

Thx!
What people think: "liberals/conservatives are ruining my country"
What the powerful know: divide and conquer
User avatar
ConducTTor
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8293
Images: 13
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 4:52 pm
Location: Atlanta GA USA

Re: Lenz Compact commander

Postby jmass » Sun Mar 14, 2010 9:31 am

i was under the impression that unless you had an older dcc system capable of running analog equipment you could burn out the motor on an analog loco trying to run it on a new dcc system.at least i think i remember reading a warning with my prodigy advanced system.
User avatar
jmass
 
Posts: 797
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 6:39 pm

Re: Lenz Compact commander

Postby ConducTTor » Sun Mar 14, 2010 10:51 am

I guess I'll do a bit more research just to be on the safe side. Thanks guys.
What people think: "liberals/conservatives are ruining my country"
What the powerful know: divide and conquer
User avatar
ConducTTor
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8293
Images: 13
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 4:52 pm
Location: Atlanta GA USA

Re: Lenz Compact commander

Postby BTTB Fan » Sun Mar 14, 2010 5:34 pm

I read the same warning on Roco's Multimaus - it said that you should never try to run DC locos on DCC track...
Alexei
User avatar
BTTB Fan
 
Posts: 677
Images: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 9:01 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Re: Lenz Compact commander

Postby CSD » Mon Mar 15, 2010 12:38 am

NMRA standard DCC systems will allow you to run a single DC locomotive on address 0. It can cause excess heating of the motor so moderate use and isolation from the power signal when not in use is advisable. The Roco system is not the same as the NMRA standard. I guess the thing to do is consult your individual manufacturers specifications. Also, some DC locomotive (such as out of the box Tillig) will not run on DCC and can cause short circuits. The short answer to the question... Yes and no.
Mark
//S
User avatar
CSD
 
Posts: 2270
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 1:31 pm
Location: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

Re: Lenz Compact commander

Postby Rich1853 » Sun Jun 03, 2018 3:15 pm

The equivalent Lenz power supply is Atlasmaster Generator # 335 (15 VAC 3.0 Amps)
Rich1853
Greetings from Melbourne, Florida USA
On the Space Coast of Florida
User avatar
Rich1853
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Sun May 20, 2018 6:54 pm
Location: Melbourne, Florida USA.

Previous

Return to Electric / DCC

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron