Kemtron 0-4-0 motor wanted

Kemtron 0-4-0 motor wanted

Postby Murad » Tue Nov 10, 2015 1:35 am

Bought a kit of kemtron 0-4-0 on eBay but the motor do not fit on the frame. It's just too big. I've checked a few pictures with 0-4-0 and all of them have a smaller motor. So I'm looking for a original motor for 0-4-0. If you have one I'll be glad to buy it!
WTB any of the HP Products locomotive parts
Murad
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 9:32 pm
Location: Moscow, Zelenograd, Russia

Re: Kemtron 0-4-0 motor wanted

Postby gerhard_k » Tue Nov 10, 2015 1:41 pm

I have several Pittman DC-195A motors, the sheet that came with them says "the smallest motor in the Pittman line". If I was more tech-y, I would scan the dimensional sketch :whistle: but here are the main dimensions:
Width - body: 15/32" = 11.9mm, over brushes: 19/32" = 15.1mm
Height - body: 23/32" = 18.3mm, over brushes 55/64" = 21.8mm
Length - body: 1-9/16" = 39.7mm, plus bearing cap 9/64" = 3.6mm, then the shaft is 13/32" = 10.3mm long and 0.092" = 2.34mm diameter (although there seems to be some variation in the length of those that I have)
There is a threaded mounting hole in the bottom and top, US 3-48 thread.

As old as these motors are, the original Alnico magnets may have lost most of their "oomph" - there are ways of re-magnetizing them, or replacing them with some of the modern "super" magnets - see for example http://cs.trains.com/mrr/f/88/p/120264/1370235.aspx

But really, if you want to make this a good-operating model, you might look into re-motoring it with a modern "can" motor; eBay has many sellers, one forum poster 5 years ago recommended http://stores.ebay.com/microlocomotion - and I see they are still in business.

Let us know what you decide to do!
Sometimes you win... sometimes you learn.
gerhard_k
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2013 9:27 pm
Location: Annapolis MD USA

Re: Kemtron 0-4-0 motor wanted

Postby Richard-B » Tue Nov 10, 2015 1:48 pm

If the engine is a Kemtron (or Lindsay) Docksider... The original motor is the unique Lindsay 7-pole design.

You would also need the correct gear... I'm not sure if I have these buried somewhere.
here is the catalog sheet:
Dockside Kemtron_Cat1-p27.jpg
Kemtron Docksider
Richard Brennan - http://www.tt-west.com
Somewhere between Shenzhen and Budapest...
User avatar
Richard-B
 
Posts: 875
Images: 1
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2009 5:29 pm
Location: San Leandro, CA

Re: Kemtron 0-4-0 motor wanted

Postby j p » Tue Nov 10, 2015 2:37 pm

Hello Murad

Here are some pictures of the original motor + replacement solution (done by Chris Happe). Does it help?

040T_1.jpg

040T_2.jpg
j p
 
Posts: 1229
Images: 69
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2016 5:08 pm
Location: Struer, Denmark

Re: Kemtron 0-4-0 motor wanted

Postby Murad » Wed Nov 11, 2015 2:12 am

Yep, this is kemtron docksider. I do have gear, but no suitable motor. Will try to find suitable on eBay but I'm not really good at it
WTB any of the HP Products locomotive parts
Murad
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 9:32 pm
Location: Moscow, Zelenograd, Russia

Re: Kemtron 0-4-0 motor wanted

Postby Murad » Wed Nov 11, 2015 2:14 am

j p wrote:Hello Murad

Here are some pictures of the original motor + replacement solution (done by Chris Happe). Does it help?

The attachment 040T_1.jpg is no longer available

The attachment 040T_1.jpg is no longer available

Sure it helps! Could you give the dimensions of the new motor?


And here is a picture of mine motor
Attachments
1447223429275-1927858242.jpg
WTB any of the HP Products locomotive parts
Murad
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 9:32 pm
Location: Moscow, Zelenograd, Russia

Re: Kemtron 0-4-0 motor wanted

Postby areibel » Wed Nov 11, 2015 8:14 am

Yours looks like the right motor Murad, you're just missing the gear and a motor brush (there should be a carbon motor brush in the small hole in the lower left side, it is held in with the little brass wire). Check and see if there is a brush on the other side in the same spot. I have a gear I can send if you have brushes or can find some, they're shaped like a cylinder, probably 3-4 mm in diameter and maybe 8-10 mm long. I'm not sure if I have any of those, but I will look.
areibel
 
Posts: 1720
Images: 7
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 10:12 am
Location: Cambridge Springs PA

Re: Kemtron 0-4-0 motor wanted

Postby j p » Wed Nov 11, 2015 10:28 am

areibel wrote:Yours looks like the right motor Murad, you're just missing the gear and a motor brush (there should be a carbon motor brush in the small hole in the lower left side, it is held in with the little brass wire). Check and see if there is a brush on the other side in the same spot. I have a gear I can send if you have brushes or can find some, they're shaped like a cylinder, probably 3-4 mm in diameter and maybe 8-10 mm long. I'm not sure if I have any of those, but I will look.


It does not look like the right version of the motor to me. It is similar, but not the same. The commutator (carbon brushes) is on the opposite end of the motor.

The replacement motor is Sagami 12V DC
diameter: 12 mm
length of the can: 24.9 mm
diameter of the shaft: 1.44 mm
total length: 44.8 mm (maybe slightly less, I measured it with the worm gear)
j p
 
Posts: 1229
Images: 69
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2016 5:08 pm
Location: Struer, Denmark

Re: Kemtron 0-4-0 motor wanted

Postby Murad » Wed Nov 11, 2015 4:31 pm

j p!
thanx a lot! Going to find a sutable motor on ebay
WTB any of the HP Products locomotive parts
Murad
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 9:32 pm
Location: Moscow, Zelenograd, Russia

Re: Kemtron 0-4-0 motor wanted

Postby Murad » Wed Nov 11, 2015 4:34 pm

areibel wrote:Yours looks like the right motor Murad, you're just missing the gear and a motor brush (there should be a carbon motor brush in the small hole in the lower left side, it is held in with the little brass wire). Check and see if there is a brush on the other side in the same spot. I have a gear I can send if you have brushes or can find some, they're shaped like a cylinder, probably 3-4 mm in diameter and maybe 8-10 mm long. I'm not sure if I have any of those, but I will look.

i do have a worm gear for the motor and only 1 brush. want to try to make a spare brush with a graphite from a pencil. ot worked for a few times with another motors.
WTB any of the HP Products locomotive parts
Murad
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 9:32 pm
Location: Moscow, Zelenograd, Russia

Next

Return to Buy, Sell, Trade

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests