Introductions

Introductions

Postby ConducTTor » Fri Jun 12, 2009 9:51 pm

I'll start :D I had TT scale trains in the 80's and about a year ago when I got back into model railroading it was a no-brainer to go with TT again. The biggest reasons were childhood memories and the fact that I wouldn't need a warehouse for a decent layout. I considered N scale too small for me. I have mostly German prototypes with a couple of Russian and American protos mixed in. Unfortunately all the forums I have found are in languages I don't speak (google does a decent job of translation but a lot gets lost). I decided I want an English speaking forum and I'll also take my shot at reviving the scale in the US.

I'm a software engineer in Atlanta and am doing this in my spare time.
What people think: "liberals/conservatives are ruining my country"
What the powerful know: divide and conquer
ConducTTor
Site Admin

Re: Introductions

Postby BTTB Fan » Tue Jun 16, 2009 9:24 pm

Hello,
First of all, thanks for the forum! I hope it will help bring many English-speaking TT enthusiasts together!

My story is similar - I had some BTTB-made trains in the early 80s, growing up in Ukraine. When we emigrated to Canada, I brought a single loco, a half-dozen cars, and some rails. Recently I came across the box in the basement and decided to set it up with my kids. Of course, I had to get a power supply first, but luckily I bought an MRC 200 on eBay for a reasonable price. My kids were mesmerised by the train running on an oval! This encouraged me to look into the "state of TT scale" in North America. Sadly, there was not much. I was lucky to stumble upon George at http://www.eurotrainhobby.com, and my kids and I got hours of cheap entertainment putting together Auhagen buildings for the layout. I am not very concerned with prototypical realism, so I am content with my locos and cars being 100% BTTB/Tillig, and my building being German rural scene...