Introduction, new to TT

Introduction, new to TT

Postby WillYart » Mon Aug 06, 2012 8:44 am

Hi, I'm a grad student in Honolulu studying computer science and plan to build a layout; I already already did the benchwork, it's a trundle that rolls on castors under the bed in our tiny apartment. We're all excited; my wife might be involved in scenery; my 4.5 year old will be involved in everything. :thumbup:

TT seems like the ideal scale (I want a continuous loop in the layout but HO would be kind of crammed in that space). There are no hobby shops with trains in Hawaii, so everything will come by mail order.

I hope I can get the support and input of the experienced TT railmodellers on this site.

I'm playing with AnyRail trial version, anyone have any good plans for my dimensions (41" x 72"?)? I've looked around various places including this site but haven't decided on anything. Do you think it would be OK for my "main line" can be a dual track? I want to use "easements".

1. What is a typical tunnel height in TT?

2. What's a good diesel locomotive for pulling trains up a 3% or 4% grade? (Want something ready to go, not custom assembling something from parts). I'm a big confused as I'm not sure what the limiting factors are (size of internal motor, # of axels, overall length); for example when I look at these two, I'm not sure whether consider them roughly equivalent performance wise:

6 axels:
https://www.reynaulds.com/products/Tillig/04533.aspx

4 axels:
https://www.reynaulds.com/products/Tillig/04588.aspx

Anyway, here's to not making any crippling mistakes... (non-assembled switches anyone?)
WillYart

Introduction, new to TT

Postby CSD » Mon Aug 06, 2012 9:56 am