I need some advice (all of it!)

I need some advice (all of it!)

Postby Petercat » Thu Aug 09, 2012 5:45 pm

Hello. This is where I need to reveal my ignorance of TT.
I've got a lot of experience in Z and N scales, building layouts and the like. What I know very little about are things that are TT-specific, such as:

1) Which are the best manufacturers, in terms of:

a) Reliability
b) Ease of maintenance and modification
c) Availability of spare parts
d) Accuracy of models
e) Anything else that you can think of

2) Is there anything unusual about the track that I should be aware of?
a) Assembly pitfalls and ways to avoid them
b) Pros and cons of the various manufacturers
c) Specific items to seek out or avoid
d) Which tracks will not play nice with others (BTTB comes to mind)

3) Support (Buildings, people, autos, bridges and other pre-made items)
a) Who makes the most accurate and proportional accessories? I have two TT bridges that look like HO.
b) Which company's products are easier to use? Build? Modify (kitbash)?

4) General
a) What voltage do TT trains run on? I assume twelve...
a) What amperage power supply is needed?

Getting to know a new scale isn't easy, friends. I know so little that I don't really know what to ask. Any advice that you can give will help, if only by leading me to the right questions!

This is all that I have so far (and a starter oval that hasn't arrived yet):
TTfirst001.jpg
I bought the four extra cars in the rear because, well, I like long trains!
"It's Peter, not Pete. Pete sounds like a bird fart.
Petercat

Re: I need some advice (all of it!)

Postby jmass » Thu Aug 09, 2012 7:04 pm

Pete, just to give you an idea of what you can do with the kuehn starter set heres a picture of how i had it set up on a 2and a half by six foot table. kuehn has a lower rail profile than tillig track and i dont know if theres an adapter piece.
dog ebay 019.jpg
makes a nice little layout. joe
jmass

Postby AstroGoat760 » Thu Aug 09, 2012 7:20 pm