Help with decoder noise...again

Re: Help with decoder noise...again

Postby MacG » Fri Feb 14, 2014 4:39 am

Take settings for Roco. They used often Buehler at their models in H0.
Lok-n-Roll.de - we are shipping worldwide :wink:
User avatar
MacG
 
Posts: 799
Images: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 1:19 pm
Location: Dresden, Germany

Re: Help with decoder noise...again

Postby ConducTTor » Fri Feb 14, 2014 6:54 pm

Thanks I'll try that.
What people think: "liberals/conservatives are ruining my country"
What the powerful know: divide and conquer
User avatar
ConducTTor
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8293
Images: 13
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 4:52 pm
Location: Atlanta GA USA

Re: Help with decoder noise...again

Postby ConducTTor » Fri Feb 21, 2014 12:21 am

ESUs new decoders with the auto setting are great! However, I have older decoders and decoders from other brands as well. Is there no know methodical way to adjust motor settings regardless of decoder? I've searched the net with no success.
What people think: "liberals/conservatives are ruining my country"
What the powerful know: divide and conquer
User avatar
ConducTTor
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8293
Images: 13
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 4:52 pm
Location: Atlanta GA USA

Re: Help with decoder noise...again

Postby Dibbedabb » Fri Feb 21, 2014 4:37 am

No, there is no really methodical ways or settings that work in any decoder from any brand. There are just a few standard CVs that are equal through all brands, like address and CV28 for RailCom or CV29 for general settings. The other regulated CVs just say, for example: CV3 is for acceleration and CV4 for breaking...
User avatar
Dibbedabb
 
Posts: 183
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2010 9:40 am
Location: Cologne / Germany

Re: Help with decoder noise...again

Postby ConducTTor » Fri Feb 21, 2014 11:30 am

Dibbedabb wrote:No, there is no really methodical ways or settings that work in any decoder from any brand.


Well that's complete Haggis. Why doesn't the whole model train industry recognize this as a major problem??? :evil:
What people think: "liberals/conservatives are ruining my country"
What the powerful know: divide and conquer
User avatar
ConducTTor
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8293
Images: 13
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 4:52 pm
Location: Atlanta GA USA

Re: Help with decoder noise...again

Postby ctxmf74 » Fri Feb 21, 2014 3:37 pm

"Why doesn't the whole model train industry recognize this as a major problem??? "

Have you tried JMRI decoder pro? Most DCC guys I know prefer it to setting CV's manually. I've never been into fine tuning enough to try it but if I was having problems with a loco I'd look into it. As far as I know it's free and easy to set up.....DaveB
ctxmf74
 
Posts: 702
Images: 32
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 12:25 am

Re: Help with decoder noise...again

Postby ConducTTor » Fri Feb 21, 2014 4:14 pm

I use it and I also use ESUs LokProgrammer for their decoders. But those are just nice GUIs for settings. They don't help with the problem of what those settings should be.
What people think: "liberals/conservatives are ruining my country"
What the powerful know: divide and conquer
User avatar
ConducTTor
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8293
Images: 13
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 4:52 pm
Location: Atlanta GA USA

Previous

Return to Electric / DCC

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests