Do you need such caboose?

Will you buy this "wrong" caboose?

Yes, I'll buy one
6
38%
Yes, I'll but more than one
5
31%
No, I need the proper model
2
13%
No, it is too expensive
0
No votes
No, I need some other model
3
19%
No (other reasons)
0
No votes
I like it but I will not buy it for some reasons
0
No votes
 
Total votes : 16

Do you need such caboose?

Postby Arseny » Mon Sep 17, 2012 12:45 pm

Today I had a talk with Nikolay from RailTT.
He have some problem and asked me to consult with you guys.
He started to make a cupola caboose and took the HO-scale Athearn caboose as prototype:

ATH74197.jpg
ATH74198.jpg


But when he casted the body, he discovered that he had made some mistake in his calculations, so he made it approx. 1cm shorter than neccessary! :wall:
He made it approx. 85mm long (including ladders); the roof is 78mm long (without ladders); the car is 80-81mm long.

Some photos:

IMG_4844.jpg
IMG_4846.jpg


The number of windows is the same as on the Athearn's caboose, but it is shorter. There were some cabooses that had the same lenght but they had less windows... :wall:

So, please, tell your opinion. Should he produce this caboose? Will you buy it?
Or maybe you'll say "No, we need only the proper model"?..

Nikolay do not feel the inspiration to rebuild it. So, if you say "No", he will destroy the molds and make some another wagon - maybe hopper, or cattle car, or maybe another version of caboose - for example, "wide-cupola" caboose, but not this one.

If you say "Yes", it will cost a little bit more expensive than boxcars - approx.22-24 Euro.
Possible lettering schemas:
Frisco
Rock Island
Burlington Route
Southern Pacific

Your opinion?
Last edited by Arseny on Mon Sep 17, 2012 4:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Arseny
 
Posts: 2586
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 4:42 am
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia

Re: Do you need such caboose?

Postby Petercat » Mon Sep 17, 2012 1:09 pm

If I can get one in Santa Fe to go with my new F3, I'll pre-order one now. This instant. Just tell me how. (And the shipping cost, of course.
Seriously. I want one now!
Okay, the shorter length doesn't matter to me. So many longer wagons were shortened for model railroading in all scales, anyway, if you hadn't pointed it out few would even notice.
Thanks for not trying to slip it across, though.
So... Can I have one? Now?
"It's Peter, not Pete. Pete sounds like a bird fart.
User avatar
Petercat
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 5:04 am
Location: Savannah GA

Re: Do you need such caboose?

Postby Petercat » Mon Sep 17, 2012 1:10 pm

And a couple of flat cars? His website says that they're not in stock.
"It's Peter, not Pete. Pete sounds like a bird fart.
User avatar
Petercat
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 5:04 am
Location: Savannah GA

Re: Do you need such caboose?

Postby j p » Mon Sep 17, 2012 3:13 pm

I would take one painted brown, without decals - to make Pennsy out of it, something like this:
Image
Image
Getting a correect road number could be a challenge though. All N6a's were rebuilt into N6b's, or were scrapped.
j p
 
Posts: 1182
Images: 69
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2016 5:08 pm

Re: Do you need such caboose?

Postby Bill Dixon » Mon Sep 17, 2012 4:20 pm

I would take one in Southern Pacific and one painted brown, no lettering to do up for my own railroad.

As for other cars, a cattle car, 40' gondola, 52' 6" GSC Flat car, shorty ore cars, and I would also take a wide vision caboose.

Regards
Bill Dixon
TT-Tracks
North Vancouver, BC
Trains 2012 Chair, November 9-12, 2012.
Regards
Bill Dixon
TT-Tracks
North Vancouver, BC
Bill Dixon
 
Posts: 940
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2010 10:57 pm
Location: North Vancouver, B.C.

Re: Do you need such caboose?

Postby Arseny » Mon Sep 17, 2012 4:28 pm

Petercat wrote:If I can get one in Santa Fe to go with my new F3, I'll pre-order one now. This instant. Just tell me how.
...
And a couple of flat cars? His website says that they're not in stock.


Oh; I think even if the majority opinion will be negative, Nikolay will nevertheless produce few cabooses - for Russian and/or Ukrainian customers and also for those who will already make an order.
But in this case the amount of production will be very few, and it will not be available in future anyway.

So, if you surely want to purchase one (or more :wink: ) - I'll just tell Nikolay and he will make one for you.

Concerning lettering: he does not have Santa Fe decals for today. Maybe he will get some appropriate H0- or N-scale decals for Santa Fe in future... but maybe not. Who knows.
But you can order a caboose without lettering and buy (or make) necessary decals by yourself.

(The same thing concerns PRR lettering)

Concerning flatcars: ok, I'll ask Nikolay. Or you can ask him directly also.
He does not like to keep a lot of stuff in stock; but if he get some orders, I am sure, he can produce some more.

What about wooden boxcars? :wink:

Concerning shipping: as I know, shipping cost will be 6-7 Euros for small package (1-2 cars) and maybe 9 Euro for bigger one.
User avatar
Arseny
 
Posts: 2586
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 4:42 am
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia

Re: Do you need such caboose?

Postby Arseny » Mon Sep 17, 2012 4:31 pm

Bill Dixon wrote:I would take one in Southern Pacific and one painted brown, no lettering to do up for my own railroad.


Ok, you are a tiny railroad magnate, I know. 8-) :lol:

BTW: It would be very interesting to see your railroad.
User avatar
Arseny
 
Posts: 2586
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 4:42 am
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia

Re: Do you need such caboose?

Postby Arseny » Mon Sep 17, 2012 4:36 pm

Guys, don't forget to vote!

There are already three of yours wanted to purchase some cabooses, but I see only 2 votes "yes" !.. :?
User avatar
Arseny
 
Posts: 2586
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 4:42 am
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia

Re: Do you need such caboose?

Postby Richard-B » Mon Sep 17, 2012 5:47 pm

Arseny wrote:Today I had a talk with Nikolay from RailTT.
He have some problem and asked me to consult with you guys.
He started to make a cupola caboose and took the HO-scale Athearn caboose as prototype:


Preface: I love what Rail-TT is doing... and will "consume mass quantities"... But:

Is there ANY way that builders can -STOP- measuring circa-1960 Athearn models... and instead use real prototype information US-based TT modelers would be HAPPY to provide? <sigh>

It always seems better to have a model that truly fits one prototype.. and can be used as a stand-in for others;
that to invent a caricature model which represents nothing well at all!

BTW: I believe the "Western" style (off-center cupola) Athearn caboose is closest to an AT&SF (Santa Fe) prototype...
Wright Trak does the SP caboose in HO; Some excellent info here:
http://www.wrighttrak.com/attachments/F ... ctions.pdf
---------------------------------------------------------
Richard Brennan - http://www.tt-west.com
Somewhere between Shenzhen and Budapest...
User avatar
Richard-B
 
Posts: 786
Images: 1
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2009 5:29 pm
Location: San Leandro, CA

Re: Do you need such caboose?

Postby ConducTTor » Mon Sep 17, 2012 7:55 pm

I'll buy one to support what Rail TT is doing (any paint/lettering) but not more because of the "issue". I fully agree with what Richard said above.
What people think: "liberals/conservatives are ruining my country"
What the powerful know: divide and conquer
User avatar
ConducTTor
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8292
Images: 13
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 4:52 pm
Location: Atlanta GA USA

Next

Return to Prototypes / Models

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests