Digitrax DZ 126 IN for MTB?

Digitrax DZ 126 IN for MTB?

Postby ctxmf74 » Wed Feb 03, 2016 3:36 pm

Hi All, I want to try a decoder in my SazModel MTB switcher and was wondering if anyone has tried the Digitrax 126 IN ( was digitrax 125 IN). ........DaveB
ctxmf74
 
Posts: 702
Images: 32
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 12:25 am

Re: Digitrax DZ 126 IN for MTB?

Postby MacG » Wed Feb 03, 2016 5:28 pm

It is flat, perhaps flat enough. The Kuehn N025 was too thick 8,9 x 13,4 x 3,3 mm.
Lok-n-Roll.de - we send worldwide :wink:
User avatar
MacG
 
Posts: 988
Images: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 1:19 pm
Location: Dresden, Germany

Re: Digitrax DZ 126 IN for MTB?

Postby ctxmf74 » Thu Feb 04, 2016 2:52 am

Digitrax website says the DZ 125 IN is 9.05mm X 10.61mm X 2.67mm. Anyone know if there is that much decoder space in the MTB switchers? ......DaveB
ctxmf74
 
Posts: 702
Images: 32
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 12:25 am

Re: Digitrax DZ 126 IN for MTB?

Postby CN-TT » Thu Feb 04, 2016 11:02 am

I'm using Kuehn N45-P which is 8,9 x 13,7 x 2,3mm. I would say the Digitrax DZ 126IN would fit.
You gotta do much more than believe if you really wanna change things!

"The GuiTTar Case" Gallery
"The GuiTTar Case" YouTube
User avatar
CN-TT
 
Posts: 381
Images: 99
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2014 2:51 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Digitrax DZ 126 IN for MTB?

Postby ctxmf74 » Thu Feb 04, 2016 2:41 pm

The Kuehn at 2.3mm is a bit thinner than the Digitrax at 2.67mm. Do you think that extra .37mm would cause problems? I'm not sure where to get a Keuhn. but I can get a Digitrax locally for about $22 so maybe I should try it? .....DaveB
ctxmf74
 
Posts: 702
Images: 32
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 12:25 am

Re: Digitrax DZ 126 IN for MTB?

Postby ConducTTor » Thu Feb 04, 2016 3:03 pm

I used an ESU decoder which is a tad too thick. So I used a Dremel to remove some material from the inside of the shell above where the decoder is. Just be careful - remove too much and you've gone through the shell and ruined it.
What people think: "liberals/conservatives are ruining my country"
What the ruling class know: divide and conquer
User avatar
ConducTTor
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8598
Images: 13
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 4:52 pm
Location: Atlanta GA USA

Re: Digitrax DZ 126 IN for MTB?

Postby ctxmf74 » Thu Feb 04, 2016 3:31 pm

"an ESU decoder which is a tad too thick"

Do you know the model number or have any idea what the thickness of that ESU is? I see some that are listed at over 3 mm but they have a lot of model numbers on their website.....DaveB
ctxmf74
 
Posts: 702
Images: 32
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 12:25 am

Re: Digitrax DZ 126 IN for MTB?

Postby ConducTTor » Thu Feb 04, 2016 6:47 pm

It's the Lok Pilot micro v4.
What people think: "liberals/conservatives are ruining my country"
What the ruling class know: divide and conquer
User avatar
ConducTTor
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8598
Images: 13
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 4:52 pm
Location: Atlanta GA USA

Re: Digitrax DZ 126 IN for MTB?

Postby ctxmf74 » Thu Feb 04, 2016 6:55 pm

"It's the Lok Pilot micro v4."

Thanks, Looks like it's 2.8mm thick so the digitraxx should with with minimal shell grinding if any is needed....DaveB
ctxmf74
 
Posts: 702
Images: 32
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 12:25 am

Re: Digitrax DZ 126 IN for MTB?

Postby ConducTTor » Thu Feb 04, 2016 8:21 pm

You know what? Let me double check...it may not be that decoder....
What people think: "liberals/conservatives are ruining my country"
What the ruling class know: divide and conquer
User avatar
ConducTTor
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8598
Images: 13
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 4:52 pm
Location: Atlanta GA USA

Next

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest