DCC motor noise

Re: DCC motor noise

Postby ConducTTor » Wed Jun 16, 2010 8:23 pm

CSD wrote:I noticed on your video that there are some electronics components near to the motor. Did you remove the series resistors or parallel capacitors from the motor circuit?


Negative. Can you shed some more light on this please?
My website: https://www.ttnut.com
It's the website you're already on. But if you want to be even more on it, click the link.
User avatar
ConducTTor
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8685
Images: 13
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 4:52 pm
Location: Atlanta GA USA

Re: DCC motor noise

Postby ConducTTor » Wed Jun 16, 2010 8:24 pm

ConducTTor wrote:
AngrySailor302 wrote:Huh.

Have you tried pulling the DCC card, and see if the motor works normally (without noise) without the DCC card?

Just an idea, trying to narrow down the fault.


I'm pretty sure it's fine without it but will pull it out again to make double sure.


No decoder = silky smooth.
My website: https://www.ttnut.com
It's the website you're already on. But if you want to be even more on it, click the link.
User avatar
ConducTTor
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8685
Images: 13
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 4:52 pm
Location: Atlanta GA USA

Re: DCC motor noise

Postby CSD » Wed Jun 16, 2010 8:37 pm

ConducTTor wrote:Negative. Can you shed some more light on this please?


After reviewing the other posts about this locomotive I'm a little doubtful that this is the problem as it has an installed NEM plug and the unnecessary electronics should have been removed with the DC chip, however; if there is a capacitor across the motor (used for smoothing out DC waveforms) it can cause a short on DCC. Also, the resistors in series with the motor shouldn't be needed. Have you tested the motor outputs directly on the motor?
Mark
//S
User avatar
CSD
 
Posts: 2275
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 1:31 pm
Location: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

Re: DCC motor noise

Postby ConducTTor » Wed Jun 16, 2010 8:46 pm

CSD wrote:Have you tested the motor outputs directly on the motor?


I have not. What should or shouldn't they read? I assume 16v dc?
My website: https://www.ttnut.com
It's the website you're already on. But if you want to be even more on it, click the link.
User avatar
ConducTTor
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8685
Images: 13
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 4:52 pm
Location: Atlanta GA USA

Re: DCC motor noise

Postby ConducTTor » Wed Jun 16, 2010 8:56 pm

ConducTTor wrote: I assume 16v dc?


Never mind that there. Retarded.........
My website: https://www.ttnut.com
It's the website you're already on. But if you want to be even more on it, click the link.
User avatar
ConducTTor
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8685
Images: 13
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 4:52 pm
Location: Atlanta GA USA

Re: DCC motor noise

Postby AstroGoat760 » Wed Jun 16, 2010 9:56 pm

Do you have another similar DCC card? Perhaps the card that was installed is faulty.
Course Set, Speed - Maximum Warp, PUNCH IT!
User avatar
AstroGoat760
 
Posts: 3989
Images: 0
Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2009 8:07 pm
Location: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA

Re: DCC motor noise

Postby ConducTTor » Wed Jun 16, 2010 10:01 pm

AngrySailor302 wrote:Do you have another similar DCC card? Perhaps the card that was installed is faulty.


Hmm, that's an idea. I'll yank one out of another loco and see what happens.
My website: https://www.ttnut.com
It's the website you're already on. But if you want to be even more on it, click the link.
User avatar
ConducTTor
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8685
Images: 13
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 4:52 pm
Location: Atlanta GA USA

Re: DCC motor noise

Postby ConducTTor » Wed Jun 16, 2010 10:24 pm

ConducTTor wrote:
AngrySailor302 wrote:Do you have another similar DCC card? Perhaps the card that was installed is faulty.


Hmm, that's an idea. I'll yank one out of another loco and see what happens.


It's definitely the locomotive. I put in a Kuehn chip and although the noise was slightly less and a bit different in pitch, it's still there. :(
My website: https://www.ttnut.com
It's the website you're already on. But if you want to be even more on it, click the link.
User avatar
ConducTTor
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8685
Images: 13
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 4:52 pm
Location: Atlanta GA USA

Re: DCC motor noise

Postby CSD » Thu Jun 17, 2010 10:18 am

Hunting around the ESU site found that they supply decoders to Mehano for factory installations. Their tech support should have some specific information. They probably have better insight than myself. I don't know.
Mark
//S
User avatar
CSD
 
Posts: 2275
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 1:31 pm
Location: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

Re: DCC motor noise

Postby ConducTTor » Thu Jun 17, 2010 10:58 am

Thanks dude. I'll call them when I get a chance.
My website: https://www.ttnut.com
It's the website you're already on. But if you want to be even more on it, click the link.
User avatar
ConducTTor
Site Admin
 
Posts: 8685
Images: 13
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 4:52 pm
Location: Atlanta GA USA

PreviousNext

Return to Electric / DCC

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests