Can motor for HP steamer?

Can motor for HP steamer?

Postby Murad » Tue Jan 14, 2020 6:21 pm

Did anybody try to upgrade pittman DC-60 to a can motor? I'm trying to restore a HP 4-6-6-4 and made it runnig today but the motor becomes REALLY hot after a few minutes of running. So is there any suggestions which motor to use with it?
WTB any of the HP Products locomotive parts
Murad

Re: Can motor for HP steamer?

Postby dileTTante » Tue Jan 14, 2020 7:50 pm

I'm not a fan of HP locomotives and I am not an expert on how they work. But I think the motor is robust and overheating means that something else is wrong. So I offer these suggestions -- the motor in the locomotive should turn freely just by pushing the armature from underneath with a toothpick or something like that. The motor can bind if the worm gear is not lined up properly, or if something is not right with the connecting rods and linkage. The motor itself should be tested outside the locomotive to make sure it needs replacing. Maybe you have done these things already.
- Terry C
dileTTante

Postby areibel » Tue Jan 14, 2020 7:55 pm

The only one I've seen with a can motor was a small HP loco, either a 0-6-0 or 0-8-0 and they used a small gear tower with a worm gear so the can motor can mount flat (with the shaft parallel to the frame). I think that might be hard to do in one of those big ones though!
There could be some things you can do- first make sure the gear mesh is not too tight, a thin piece of paper or brass under the motor may help that. And another issue could be the magnet of the motor is getting weak, check out this topic- old-pittman-motors-t1051-10.html?hilit=motor%20magnet#p10042

I remember Richard Edmonds (I think) investigating using a stack of replacement Neodymium magnets in place of the original Alnico one, but I haven't found that yet. In the old days you could get a weak magnet re-magnatized, but I don't know of anywhere that can still do something like that, we're too modern!
areibel