A new member

A new member

Postby modorney » Wed Mar 11, 2015 1:27 pm

Hi, I am Mike, and I am new to TT .

I am getting into TT by a roundabout fashion, and here is my circuitous path:

If you have children, there are two milestones in your life. One is when the first one is a Junior in High School ("Junior" - an American term for two years before graduation) when the planning and selection of colleges goes into high gear, and you settle down on a dozen, or so, likely schools. That is a busy time, which also includes some life skills like getting a Driver License, learning ow to balance a checkbook, etc. And, this is the start of the FAFSA - an American form used to apply for financial aid. It roughly duplicates an income tax form, but far more complicated. The second milestone is when you do your last FAFSA (it is done annually). This is about a five or six year process, for each child, and since I have only one child, it is easier.

At the beginning, there is actually a lull - there is a few months between the last form and the actual start of college. During this lull, about five years ago, I started thinking about model railroading. The last time I did any serious modeling was four decades ago, at an outstanding college layout - http://railroad.union.rpi.edu/index.php ... ge_Website, as well as frequent visits to another college club - http://tmrc.mit.edu/history/