120 cm x 70 cm Coffe Table Layout

120 cm x 70 cm Coffe Table Layout

Postby Bruno Strasser » Wed Jun 29, 2016 3:21 pm

As a complete novice I wonder if some of your members can give some advice.

I have hankered after a model rail layout for years but don't have the space and came across the idea above.Having researched all the various gauges I came across TT which I think is just perfect. I want to model German Railways and HO is too big and N too small.

However is it realistic to build a layout using the area above ? I have managed to obtain an Ikea Ivas Glass Topped Coffee table which I propose to put a layout in. Its about 30 cm deep so plenty scope for buildings etc.

Also I notice Roco have some Z21 sets without rails- would these be compatible with Tillig or Kuehn track ? Any help with potential layouts (ideally oval with two tracks would be gratefully received).

Thanks
Bruno Strasser

Re: 120 cm x 70 cm Coffe Table Layout

Postby ConducTTor » Wed Jun 29, 2016 4:42 pm

#1 yes Roco sets are compatible with Kuhn and Tillig track
#2 120 X 70 is tight but doable. I would use Kuhn's smallest radius curved track (321mm) or flex track from either company to keep your curve radius within the 70mm width.
#3 given the small dimensions I would use smaller locomotives and shorter cars. It will be easier for them to navigate tight radii and you can fit more in a small space.

Do you know which era you want to model Germany? Or is there no preference? I ask because of #3 above.

If I have time I'll play around with some track plans for the space you have and post them.

Welcome to the site!
What people think: "liberals/conservatives are ruining my country"
What the powerful know: divide and conquer
ConducTTor
Site Admin

Postby Bruno Strasser » Wed Jun 29, 2016 4:56 pm

I like diesels so modern era for me. Any help is gratefully accepted.